This feedback does not pertain to THIS apartment, which is listed above, but after inquiring about THIS apartment, I was directed to another site.
The representative who contacted me stated that while THIS particular apartment was not available, there was another apartment that was available, which they could offer me at a reduced weekly rate (although reduced, please know that the rate was not insignificant). After reviewing the photos, my husband and I arranged for the booking. The company debited our account in two payments in order to avoid their surcharge. After the first withdrawal, and one and a half weeks prior to my departure for England, the company informed me that the apartment was no longer available, but they would offer me another apartment at the same rate. When I expressed distress, the agent informed me that the apartment that they were offering me was listed at a higher rate and was actually nicer; although it did not appear that way to me. Unfortunately, my husband was already in Europe with twenty students and I was scheduled to meet him at the apartment in London. Despite my misgivings I retained the booking (due to condensed time frame, also the cancellation policy with this company is that there is no refund if cancellations occur less than one month prior to the booking).
My worst fears were realized: the apartment was a third floor walk-up with six landings, a shell featuring a bed, sofa, and sorely lacking in many, many areas.
Please be careful and investigate every proposal very carefully.
REPLY FROM THE LISTER:
We thank you for your feedback and, as you know, we have replied to you directly. We would like to address the apparent confusion here. It is standard practice to split the rent payment as an initial down payment or booking deposit and to pay the remaining balance later. Most guests prefer to pay in 2 instalments rather than the full amount in one go. We do not understand the ‘surcharge’ referred to here.
We notified you immediately the property fell through and offered you a full refund to continue your search. We had a couple of conversations with you shortly before your arrival. We understand that you were on a limited budget and, as an alternative, we offered you a reduced amount on another apartment for the inconvenience, which you viewed online and approved before hand. The apartment is very centrally located in a very expensive part of town. It has simple furnishings but is very comfortable and is a great option for those on a limited budget who wish to stay in an exclusive area of London. We have received many positive reviews for this apartment so we are disappointed to hear your comments. Further, we went out of our way to facilitate an early check in to suit you, provide you with a hairdryer and then went to the shop to buy an American adaptor when you said you weren’t able to. We have written to you separately to express our disappointment as we take our guest satisfaction very seriously.
With best wishes
Old World Charm
||6/14/2012 4:30:00 PM