Home Exchange / House Swap


Ashford Connecticut 06278 United States of America

Listing # 119653


Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Friday, February 9, 2018

CT Lakefront house in the country between NYC and Boston

Swap houses with us for a few weeks this summer! We are open to going just about anywhere and will take great care of your home.

The 1800 sq foot house is located on Ashford Lake in the quiet corner of Connecticut. The lake is small and clean and no motors are allowed so it is always quiet and safe. We swim in it all summer and skate all winter. The house is comfortable with window a/c s that are rarely needed in summer because of the breeze off the lake. We have a large yard and we also own the lake front spot next door which we use for our volleyball court and to launch the kayaks and canoes.

Some pics available here and more will come soon: https://www.amazon.com/photos/share/VjiB3osQTULcvzMtySIcekm5i4iYC1hXxemmIEhfuW8

The house itself is fully equipped for an active family. The main floor has the kitchen, full bath, living room, piano area, playroom, office, dining room/office space and a child's bedroom with twin bed. The upper floor has one child's bedroom (lofted twin) and one large master bedroom (queen tempurpedic) and a full bath. The basement is partially finished with a complete bedroom with queen sized tempurpedic bed and full bath. It also has a playroom with a fold out full size futon.

We are located 20 minutes from the UCONN campus, 1 hour from Hartford, 1.5 hours from Boston and 2 hours from NYC. We have 2 cats, and plants to care for. Several hiking trails are nearby.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
1800 Sq. Feet
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, June 27, 2018 until Wednesday, July 25, 2018
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Our dates are somewhat flexible but need to occur within the summer months.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Ashford
Postal Code - State or Province 06278 CT
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords quiet corner,
Closest University University of Connecticut
University nearby Worcester State, Wesleyan, HART, Elms, UMass Medical, UCHC (all Boston schools 1.5 hours away)




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1:








Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Wednesday, June 27, 2018 until Wednesday, July 25, 2018


Rental Price:

Rental price not specified.

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Ocean/Lake

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Off Campus
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes

Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Jan 10 2018
This member has no review
About Me
Pre-kids and pre-academia, I was an avid traveler. I now live on Ashford Lake, a small lake in the quiet corner of the state of Connecticut. We are a 20 minute drive to the University of Connecticut and are situated between Boston and NY. (1.5 hours to Boston and 2 to NY). The house is large- and has extra sleeping room in the finished basement. The main house has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The finished basement has 1 bedroom, 1 bath. We also have a large deck overlooking the yard and lake. If we do an exchange we would be looking for someone to water the plants and feed our 2 cats. If we end up renting for this period that we are gone, we would reduce the rent for care of the house and animals. Now that the kids are a bit older, we're looking for them to have an international experience. Ideally, I'd like to find a place for a month-- we are open as to where. For the first 2 weeks, I will write while kids attend some sort of camp in order to better learn the language. For the second 2 weeks we will use your home as a launch pad to travel around.
https://aphasia-rehab.slhs.uconn.edu/

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Jennifer_Mozeiko

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 10 + 11 =


Reviews

This member has no review