Home Exchange / House Swap


Forest Lodge 2037 Australia

Listing # 106931


Independent Scholar
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Stylish inner city terrace in Sydney

Our 1880s terrace house was transformed into a contemporary living space in 2013.

The house is spacious and comfortable with mid-century furniture and artworks by artists we love. On the ground floor is a study/bedroom on the street front, with desk, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite bathroom with shower. The entry passage leads to an open plan space with air conditioning, a formal dining area with gas fireplace, gourmet kitchen with a breakfast bar and a concealed laundry. The adjoining sitting room opens onto a leafy private courtyard with a gas barbeque and an outdoor fireplace for the cooler months. In summer the courtyard is shaded by a small woodland beyond the property.

On the first floor level at the rear of the house is a guest bedroom, a bathroom with bath and shower, and a study alcove with desk. The main bedroom at the front of the house has plentiful storage and an ensuite bathroom with shower. The bedroom leads onto a sunny private deck which is perfect for breakfast or an evening drink.

Set in a quiet leafy street, our house is close to transport, shops, coffee shops and restaurants. The street has a flourishing community garden.You can stroll to the University of Sydney and to the harbour in 15 minutes. Sydney city centre is less than an hour’s walk along the harbour. The Inner West region of Sydney has cosmopolitan cafe life and a diverse population. Buses and the light rail train service are close by and run frequently. Broadway Shopping Centre is a five-minute bus ride from the house. You can walk to Glebe Point Road in ten minutes, to visit independent shops, bars and restaurants (serving Greek, Indian, Lebanese, Mexican and Vietnamese food) and an excellent local bookshop. Across the park at the end of our street is the Tramsheds with its hub of restaurants and retailers including an excellent supermarket, a brewery, a medical centre and a fitness centre. Swimming pools, Glebe Library, galleries, a cinema and local food and craft markets are a walk or short bus ride away.

Nearby Jubilee Park on Blackwattle Bay offers our favourite local walk, with classic Sydney views of the Harbour Bridge and Anzac Bridge and easy pedestrian access to the famous Sydney Fish Market. On New Year`s Eve and Australia Day (26 January), the Bay is a great spot to view Sydney`s spectacular firework displays.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
3
Number of Offices
2
Surface Size
100 Sq. Meters
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Friday, January 1, 2021 until Wednesday, March 1, 2023
Minimum Stay
2 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Seeking long term swaps of 2 to 6 months and longer
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Forest Lodge
Postal Code - State or Province 2037 NSW
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords Glebe
Closest University University of Sydney
University nearby University of Technology Sydney, University of New South Wales, University of Notre Dame




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: London
City
London


England
Country
United Kingdom

Neighborhood Keywords
Central London


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Friday, January 1, 2021 until Wednesday, March 1, 2023


Rental Price:

Rental price not specified.

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Jul 22 2016
This member has no review
About Me
Julie is Australian, is an academic editor and has worked in a gallery bookshop. Rob is British, a geographer and performance auditor. Our children live in central London and we moved here in 2016. We have enjoyed 16 home exchanges over the past four years in various London locations, as well as in Edinburgh, Worthing, the Netherlands and Italy. We are looking for long term home exchanges in London for our Sydney home (least 2 months and preferably longer) until 2023. We have also lived and worked in the US, The Netherlands and the UK. Languages: English, Dutch

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 2 + 2 =


Reviews

This member has no review