Home Exchange / House Swap or Home Sitting


Rome 00154 Italy

Listing # 79651


Independent Scholar
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Sunday, February 4, 2018

Large, sunny, quiet apartment in downtown Rome

Our home is a 1800-square feet apartment on the third and fourth floor of a century-old building. It is very sunny, with a South-facing terrace (another 160 square feet) where we dine all summer long. On the North side there is a small balcony facing the ancient Roman walls. On the third floor there are three bedrooms: the first has two single beds, the second has a king-size bed, the third has one single bed with another single bed that can be pulled out from underneath. There are also a large bathroom with shower, a laundry room with washer and dryer, a corridor with a desk/den, and a staircase leading to the upper level. On the fourth floor there is a living/dining room with a large sofa (not a sofabed, but one person can sleep on it), a smallish kitchen with glass walls, a playroom with a piano, an office/den with a single bed (here again, another bed can be pulled out from underneath), another bathroom with shower/bathtub, the terrace, and the balcony. The apartment has hardwood floors and local heating. On the upper floor there is air conditioning (on the lower floor, which is cooler, in the summer we mostly use fans). We have two quiet and friendly cats who will stay in the apartment. Unfortunately the house is not wheelchair-accessible.

The location is the main reason we chose to live here. The apartment is on a side street right next to the Testaccio area (with lots of restaurants and music clubs and a typical open-air Roman market); at the same time it's very quiet, as it faces away from the street. It is close to Roma Tre University and to a public library, and the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale can be reached in 15 minutes by subway. It is also very close to the downtown area: for instance, you can walk to the Colosseum in 15 minutes. It is extremely close to several bus stops, a subway station (Piramide), a local railway line leading to the seaside (beaches and the Ostia ruins can be reached in less than an hour), and the train connection to Fiumicino airport (half an hour).

We are a gay Italian couple with two small kids born through surrogacy (Lia is twelve, and Andrea nine and a half). Tommaso, a UC Berkeley PhD, is a writer, an essayist (English and Italian literature, LGBT issues), and a radio host. Franco is a high-school teacher and a historian. We were married in 1998. We like to travel and meet people, and would enjoy showing new countries to our children, pretty much anywhere in the world (but also in Italy), usually short-term and sometimes last-minute. We already swapped houses six times (though not through Sabbatìcal Homes) and can provide references.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
4
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
2
Surface Size
1800 Sq. Feet
Suited for
9 people
Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Thursday, March 29, 2018 until Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Available from Friday, June 29, 2018 until Friday, August 10, 2018
Minimum Stay
5 day(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Swaps need not be simultaneous. Also, we would not travel to a foreign country for less than a week.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Rome
Postal Code - State or Province 00154 Lazio
Country Italy
Neighborhood Keywords Testaccio, Aventino, Ostiense
Closest University Università degli Studi Roma Tre
University nearby Università La Sapienza (20 minutes by subway)




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Amsterdam
City
Amsterdam


NH
Country
Netherlands

Neighborhood Keywords
Zentrum


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Thursday, March 29, 2018 until Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Wanted from Friday, June 29, 2018 until Friday, August 10, 2018

Destination 2: Lisbon
City
Lisbon


Lisbon
Country
Portugal

Neighborhood Keywords
downtown


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Thursday, March 29, 2018 until Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Wanted from Friday, June 29, 2018 until Friday, August 10, 2018
Destination 3: London
City
London


England

Neighborhood Keywords
downtown
Country
United Kingdom


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Thursday, March 29, 2018 until Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Wanted from Friday, June 29, 2018 until Friday, August 10, 2018

Rental Price:

Rental price not specified.

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Off Campus
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Piano
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Other: Children's playroom

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
Housesitting Comments
We have a cat who will stay in the apartment.

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Jun 17 2013
This member has no review
About Me
After my Master and PhD in the States I moved back to Italy. Over the years I have published several books, essays (Italian and English literature, GLBT studies), and short stories. Since 2003 I am one of the anchormen of the Italian NPR's culture-and-society broadcast, "Fahrenheit". I live in downtown Rome (Piramide Cestia, Testaccio) with my husband Franco, daughter Lia (10), and son Andrea (8).
http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tommaso_Giartosio

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 3 + 1 =


Reviews

This member has no review