Home Exchange / House Swap


New York New York United States of America

Listing # 103231


Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Saturday, September 30, 2017

Garden Apartment in Lively Neighborhood of New York City

Enjoy one of NYC's greatest neighborhoods--colorful and energetic Jackson Heights in Queens, the most ethnically diverse place in the United States. We live in one of the historic "Garden City" cooperatives, with everything that you need in easy walking distance: restaurants, shops, green grocers, playgrounds, libraries, music clubs, farmer's market, and excellent public transportation.

Our apartment is on the second floor of a six-story elevator building. There are two bedrooms, a bathroom, galley kitchen, and spacious living/dining room. The apartment has plenty of closet space, a well-appointed kitchen with dishwasher, an intercom system for the building entrance, and great windows overlooking the central courtyard. We have many books and compact discs, and a great stereo system, all of which you are free to enjoy. Laundry is a quick elevator ride to the basement, kept scrupulously clean by our building's porters.

The cooperative is very congenial place, with six buildings arranged around a block-long internal courtyard--the classic Jackson Heights style. The garden is beautifully landscaped, with many benches and tables for outdoor dining. Each entrance into the garden from the street is gated, so children can play in safety. Our neighbors are friendly and helpful people who come from all over the world; they are artists, social workers, teachers, architects, writers, musicians, tech workers, and civil servants.

Jackson Heights is a gem of a neighborhood. The area is renowned for its diversity of food options: South Indian, Bengali, Nepalese, Tibetan, Korean, Vietnamese, Thai, Columbian, Peruvian, Mexican, and Argentinian, just to name a few. There are hundreds of restaurants and shops within just a ten-block radius. The neighborhood is beautifully scaled, with dozens of five- and six-story apartment buildings interspersed with trees, row houses, commercial blocks, and small plazas. There are numerous churches, temples, and mosques as well.

Public transit options are plentiful, including multiple bus routes, four subway lines (E, F, M, R), and the elevated 7 train. It only takes 15 minutes to get to Midtown Manhattan, 20 minutes to Greenwich Village. There is an express bus to LaGuardia Airport and to Rockaway Beach, and easy connections to JFK. Nearby attractions include Flushing Meadows Park, the Queens Museum of Art, the Museum of the Moving Image, PS1/MOMA, the Noguchi Museum, Socrates Sculpture Garden, and Gantry Plaza at the East River.

We are looking for exchanges between one and four months. We are most interested in swapping for Amsterdam, Paris, Mexico City, Buenos Aires, Rome, Istanbul, or Barcelona. But we will consider other urban situations. We do have a lovely cat named Guadalupe, and would prefer someone who could care for her, but can make alternate arrangements if necessary.

Feel free to email me at jheathcott [at] gmail [dot]com if you are serious about proposing a swap.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
85 Sq. Meters

Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Friday, June 1, 2018 until Friday, August 31, 2018
Available from Friday, December 15, 2017 until Thursday, January 25, 2018
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City New York
Postal Code - State or Province NY
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords Jackson Heights, Queens, New York City
Closest University NYU, Columbia, New School, CUNY, St. John's
University nearby NYU, Columbia, New School, CUNY, St. John's




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Amsterdam
City
Amsterdam


NH
Country
Netherlands

Neighborhood Keywords
Pijp, Vondelpark, Indische-Buurt, or similar areas






Destination 2: Paris
City
Paris


Île-de-France
Country
France

Neighborhood Keywords
Right bank, Eastern Paris preferred, but would consider anywhere





Destination 3: Barcelona
City
Barcelona


CT


Country
Spain





Rental Price:

Rental price not specified.

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Off Campus
  • Historical Home

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Elevator
  • Security System or Doorman
  • TV
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Jun 20 2010
This member has no review
About Me
I am a writer, photographer, and educator based in New York City. I teach architectural history and comparative urbanism at The New School, where I have served as a department chair and associate dean. I have also taught at the University of Vienna, the London School of Economics, the University of the Arts in London, and the Catholic University in Portugal. My wife is an environmental educator and community development specialist, with a Masters in Social Work and a Masters in Applied Anthropology. We have lived abroad and traveled extensively in many parts of the world.
http://urban.parsons.edu/faculty/

https://www.newschool.edu/public-engagement/ba-urban-studies-faculty/?id=4f44-6378-4e6a-413d

http://www.public-engagement.org/tag/joseph-heathcott/

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 2 + 3 =


Reviews

This member has no review