Home Exchange / House Swap


Saint-Martin-de-Vers 46360 France

Listing # 114839


Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Sunday, June 17, 2018

An Oasis of Tranquility in SW France

Our home is located in the Lot Valley of southwestern France, just south of the Dordogne region--an area of castles, caves, dramatic landscapes, vineyards, and medieval villages of great charm and diversity. It's an area known for its gastronomy and spectacular farmers' markets. We're about a 5-hour train ride north to Paris, 2 hours north to Bordeaux, 2 1/2 hours to the Mediterranean in the south and 4 hours to the Spanish border.

Our newly built home is decidedly modern. Entering the home, if you go straight ahead from the entry you arrive at the great room, which sports an Italian style kitchen with a large island, a dining area, and a living area with a grand piano, fireplace and 65-inch flatscreen TV. Should you turn right when entering the house you will find the guest bath, guest room with queen-size bed, office with sofa and 55-inch flat screen, and master suite. The master suite has a large walk-in closet, a king-size bed, and the adjoining ensuite has a large jetted tub, separate large walk-in shower, double sinks, a heated towel rack, and a Japanese toilet in its own cabinet.

There is also a cellier, or large pantry, off the main hallway that sports storage space, a wine refrigerator and a washer and dryer.

The view from our property, which contains an 11-meter pool with automatic cover, as well as a large terrace, is breathtaking. And the home sits on such high ground that at night you almost feel a part of the sky--stars twinkling beautifully all around you.

We are very much in the country, up in the hills from the village of St. Martin de Vers, and a car would be essential to live here. There are just a handful of homes in our area and none infringe on our privacy or our view. We're 12 minutes from the nearest village, Labastide Murat, with bakery, pharmacy, supermarket, etc., and 20 minutes from Cahors, a larger town with movie theaters and three very large supermarkets as well as any shops and services you could require--including an outdoor market twice a week that goes back to the 14th century.

I am a tenured professor at Emerson College in Boston/Los Angeles and my husband is a musician. We are only interested in a home exchange with a house/condo in the Los Angeles area for the Spring semester of 2019--January through April. Having spent this last academic year here in our home in France, I can testify that it's a wonderful place to write, read and study--and I find it incredibly inspiring.

Our home is in a magical part of the world, and if you have a property in the Los Angeles area of comparable quality, we'd love to hear from you.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
1617 Sq. Feet
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Tuesday, January 1, 2019 until Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
We're looking for an exchange for the Spring Semester of 2019.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Saint-Martin-de-Vers
Postal Code - State or Province 46360 Occitanie
Country France
Neighborhood Keywords We're in the area in the hills--to the NW of St. Martin de Vers
Closest University
University nearby




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Los Angeles
City
Los Angeles

State or Province
CA
Country
United States of America

Neighborhood Keywords
Prefer Santa Monica, Pacific Palisades, W. Hollywood but will consider other areas


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Tuesday, January 1, 2019 until Tuesday, April 30, 2019


Rental Price:

Rental price not specified.

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Architectural Gem
  • Writing or Country Retreat

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Sep 10 2009
This member has no review
About Me
I'm a screenwriter/college professor and my husband and I are looking for an exchange in central Los Angeles for the Spring semester, Jan-Apr 2019.
www.dianelake.com

www.screenwriterspath.com

This member has referred 4 registered user(s) (1 academics) who posted 3 listings
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 14 + 15 =


Reviews

This member has no review