Home for Rent


Balgowlah 2093 Australia

Listing # 121660


Rates From AUD 1100 Weekly
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Lovely 3-bedroom home for rent, 2 miles from Manly

Our home is a Californian bungalow built in the 1920s and renovated. It retains many of the attractive original features of the period such as a stained-glass bay window, some dark timber panelling, a domed ceiling in the sitting room and moulded ceilings in the bedrooms. Shortly after moving in 26 years ago, we added an upper half-storey with third bedroom and second bathroom. There are 3 bedrooms, (King bed, double bed and king single), 2 bathrooms and 3 living areas. There is a ‘log’ gas fire in the sitting room and a portable gas heater for the back living area. The beds all have electric blankets, though winter in Sydney is not particularly cold. Hot water is instant; gas-heated. The main bedroom has a reverse cycle air conditioning unit. The hob is gas and the oven electric. There is a Bosch dishwasher, Miele washing machine and Simpson dryer.

The back courtyard faces east so has plenty of morning sun; there is an 8 setting table and chairs outside and, even in the winter months, we often have breakfast outside. At the front of the house, west facing, there is a balcony with a small round table and 4 chairs, a good place to enjoy a drink at sunset. The front garden has a small well-kept lawn, garden beds and there is also an off-street undercover carport.

We are situated 3 kms (just under 2 miles) from beautiful Manly beach and are closer still to Clontarf, our nearest harbor beach. The house is extremely well placed for public transport with frequent buses at stops 150 metres from the house to the city, to Manly, to Chatswood and to the Northern Beaches. We are close to shops, schools, cricket oval, golf courses, bowling clubs, beaches, restaurants, cafes etc. The wonderful Spit to Manly 9 kilometre bush walk is one of the great attractions of the area. Even though we are in an urban area, bird life is still very much in evidence, as are possums and occasionally, a shy blue-tongued lizard will make an appearance in the back courtyard.
The area is safe and family-friendly and walking is a pleasure around here.

Sydney has a wonderful range of theatres, cinemas, restaurants, sports and music venues. The NSW Art Gallery, MCA, Australian Museum, Powerhouse Museum are just a few of the many cultural centres offering touring and fixed exhibitions. Canberra, home of the National Gallery, War Museum, Federal Parliament building etc, is a short flight or 3-4 hour drive. There are regular festivals including the Sydney Writers’ Festival, various film festivals, Vivid etc. Melbourne is just over an hour’s plane ride and Brisbane an hour and a half.

The universities are all accessible by public transport (usually 2 buses) as well as driving, and are at the following distances: Sydney – 15 kms, New South Wales – 17.5 kms, Macquarie - 19.5 kms. Our daughter attended UNSW and lived at home throughout, apart from when on student exchange to NYU.

This is a much-loved family home where our children have grown up and which holds many wonderful memories.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
0

 
Suited for
5 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Monday, June 18, 2018 until Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
No
Comments on Dates
We would prefer to have a single let of three months, though could possibly be flexible on this
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Balgowlah
Postal Code - State or Province 2093 NSW
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords Manly, Northern beaches, Balgowlah
Closest University Sydney
University nearby Sydney, UNSW, Macquarie, UTS




Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 1100 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
The only reason I have ticked not safe for small children is a steep staircase, but our children were 2 and 4 when we moved in and we taught them and there were no accidents. It is possible to block off the stairs.
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Piano
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Apr 2 2018
This member has no review
About Me
I am a recently retired Teacher-Librarian and my husband is an IT consultant, now also retired. We come from UK but have lived in Australia for 33 years and our adult children were born and brought up here. We have travelled regularly back to Europe over the years to visit family and friends, tending always to go to the places they live. Now that we have retired we are planning a bigger trip taking in parts of Asia and Eastern Europe, cities that were generally closed to tourists when we came out in 1985 before the Berlin Wall came down. We plan to leave mid-June and return early October.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 3 + 1 =


Reviews

This member has no review