Home for Rent


Berkeley California 94705 United States of America

Listing # 129808


Rates From USD 1113 Weekly
Independent Scholar
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Exciting Berkeley, California Home

Our home is available for 12 days, 8-25-19 through 9-5-19. Rent is $159/night, with a minimal rental period of 7 nights. Rent is $200/night, with a minimal rental period of 5 nights. The cleaning fee is $150 and a refundable security deposit is $1,000. It includes sleeping space for four people in a bedroom with a queen bed and a large study with two beds available there. Our home includes a beautiful dining room, living room, kitchen, kitchen nook, one and a half bathrooms, tools and supplies closet, and well-landscaped front and backyard (fenced).

We live in a lovely, sunny, well-lighted private home in an organized, friendly and community-minded neighborhood in Berkeley. Several families with children of various ages live nearby. We look out for and take care of our neighborhood and our neighbors. My wife and I have resided in Berkeley for the last 50 years and in our current home for over 30 years. During this time we have worked to maintain, improve and beautify our home, so we are looking for orderly tenants. We interact with our guests as much as our guests need it. We are available by email and by phone.

The upstairs bedroom has a queen bed with a firm mattress and a soft mattress topper. The study has high speed internet, a sectional couch, two single aerobeds, treadmill, exercise equipment, weights, steam iron, ironing board, and entertainment system. The upstairs bathroom includes a large claw-foot tub and shower. The first floor includes a large dining room and living room with a fireplace and piano, a full kitchen, breakfast nook, and half bathroom with a toilet and sink. A men's and women's bicycle and a guitar are available upon request. Guests will be able to access all grounds on the property and the entire house except for one locked bedroom which we use as a storage space.

Our part of town is very flat and walkable. We are a 10-15 minute walk to the University of California, the downtown Berkeley Theater District, movie houses, popular shopping and dining areas, and two full-service food markets. Bus transport is one block away. B.A.R.T. trains to various parts of the East Bay and to San Francisco are a 15 minute walk from our house.

Berkeley is a 15 minute drive to San Francisco and 15 minute drive to miles of beautiful hiking trails in the Berkeley and Oakland Hills. Berkeley, San Francisco, and the University of California offer many cultural, social, and political events.

The San Francisco Bay Area is exciting in so many ways. It includes sailing opportunities, beaches, the Point Reyes National Seashore with beautiful hikes and backpacking along the Pacific Ocean, Muir Woods with gigantic redwoods, and Mount Tamalpais with stunning views in Marin County. We are also a 3-5 hour drive from the Sierra Mountains, Mammoth Lakes, and Yosemite National Park.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
2000 Sq. Feet
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Sunday, August 25, 2019 until Friday, September 6, 2019
Minimum Stay
7 day(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
There may be one or two days flexibility at either end of this rental period.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Berkeley
Postal Code - State or Province 94705 CA
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords South Campus Neighborhood
Closest University University of California at Berkeley
University nearby University of San Francisco, San Francisco State University, Stanford University




Rental Price:

Asked
USD 1113 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
Discount rate for longer stays
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished

Amenities:

  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: exercise equipment, treadmill

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Feb 9 2019
This member has no review
About Me
I am a retired public high school English as a Second Language, English, and U.S. History teacher. My wife is a retired elementary school teacher. We are both active in the climate movement. I play guitar, sing and I am a member of a horse co-op in Orinda, CA. I ride and take care of other members' horses. My wife, Laurie, does educational work about the the climate crisis and studies Ikebana, (Japanese flower arranging). We have a son in West Hollywood who is a doctor of clinical psychology at the Central Los Angeles VA Hospital. We have rented our home on airbnb and stayed in other airbnb locations. We are very neat and respectful of other homes where we have stayed and we expect the same treatment for guests in our home.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 3 + 13 =


Reviews

This member has no review