Home for Rent


Brunswick 3056 Australia

Listing # 110468


Rates From AUD 750 Weekly
Referred Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Eco-friendly Family Home in Melbourne's Inner North

Our double fronted Edwardian era, 3 bedroom house with large backyard is situated in the exciting and progressive, inner north suburb of Brunswick. This house is perfect for families, but is also well suited to a couple wanting a spacious home.

We have lived in the house for the last 4 years with our 4 year-old daughter and we’ve loved it. It is a comfortable place with a gorgeous back yard. We have added a number of features to help make it a much more sustainable home (solar panels, water tank, heat pump, external blinds) with the added benefit of bringing down the utility bills. The location really caps off the house for us and essentially everything we need (including work) is within walking or bike riding distance.

The House:
The house has 3 bedrooms; two with queen beds and a third set up as a kids room with a mural painted by a local artist and single bed. We can help to source other bedroom furniture, such as cots or bunk beds, if required. There is a built-in wardrobe in the kid’s room, with drawers, shelving units and clothes racks in the front bedrooms.

The lounge area has two Scandinavian refurbished lounge suites, a 42inch Sony TV, two speaker Sonos system and wifi (broadband internet).

The spacious kitchen will easily accommodate cooking for everyone from large families to couples. There is a walk in pantry and generous cupboard space. All our utensils, crockery and pots/pans are included. There is a gas oven and microwave. The kitchen flows onto a large dining area with table that sits 6 and optional little kids table with chairs.

There is a separate laundry with wet access door from backyard. No dryer, but good outdoor undercover hanging space.

The lounge area has a split system AC. The dining area has a gas heater. We have two separate portable electric heaters for bedrooms for the rarer really cold nights.

Eco factors:
There is a 2kW solar panel system with an online portal to let you track how much is being generated (if really keen). 6000 L water tank, that supplies the toilet, washing machine and outdoor garden tap. Heat pump, which is basically a very efficient system for heating water with electricity; the water gets heated in the middle of the day using peak solar energy. Retractable external blinds which block ~95% of light to keep the heat out in summer.

Backyard:
This is a landscaped, child-friendly, private space that is a great place for adults to relax and kids to explore and play. The majority of the garden is native, which requires very little input at all. The garden creates lots of shade and keeps the space protected. There are two large raised wicking beds, perfect for summer tomatoes and climbing veges. There are two separate herb gardens with herbs ready to go when you arrive. An open-air pergola is covered in a deciduous vine, which provides shade during summer, and lets the light in during winter. There is also an outdoor setting, with table and four chairs.

We also have a chicken coop and chicken run; we keep 5 chickens, but they will have another home when we leave. If you are keen, we can help you get some chickens for your stay. There is a small patch of lawn that is easily maintained with a hand held whippersniper that we will supply.

We will arrange garden maintenance at 3 or 6-monthly intervals, to keep things like the deciduous vine and other fast-growing things under control. Gardening tools will available for your own use.

There is also several areas for hanging washing, a cubby space, sand-pit and BBQ (Weber baby q).

We have a carport with rear access onto a back laneway that doubles as a great space for kids to play, with a long, hand-made redgum wooden bench – perfect to escape from the summer heat. The carport can house up to 6 bikes in addition to a car.

Utilities:
We can leave utilities connected (including internet), but these are not included in rental price.

Optional Extras:
We can leave two adult bikes (single speed and mountain bike).
There is the option of renting our car (Hyundai i30).
We can also arrange a cleaning service for you.

Location:
The house is on a relatively quiet, tree-lined side street with free, ample on-street parking. There are lots of families (and medical colleagues) in the street.

Transport:
• Lygon street and tram stop (2 min walk)
• Sydney road and tram stop (10 min walk)
• Train station (1km, 13 min walk)
• Airport ($30 uber)
• Merri creek bike path (1km)
• Upfield bike path (1km)

Institutions
• Parkville precinct (Melbourne University, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre, Peter Doherty Institute, Bio-21) - 5km, 20min cycle, 25min walk-tram
• Royal Children’s Hospital, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute – 5.5km, 20min cycle, 30min walk-tram)
• St Vincent’s Hospital (6km, 25min cycle, 40min walk-tram)
• City (6.5km, 30min cycle, 30min walk-tram)

Schools and Childcare (these are just a selection):
• East Brunswick Primary School (1km, 12 min walk, 4 min cycle)
• Brunswick North Primary School (2km, 25 min walk, 8 min cycle, 15 min bus)
• Brunswick High School (2.7 km, 11 min cycle 10 min by car)
• Northcote High School (3km, 12 min cycle, 10 min by car)
• Blyth St Early Learning Centre (650m, 8 min walk, 3 min cycle) – 6 weeks-5 years
• Many other not-for-profit and private childcare centres in the area (though in high demand, but we can help with enrolments or suggestions!)


Nearby food/supplies
• Cafes (3 within 3 min walk), eg www.padrecoffee.com.au
• Restaurants (many within 5min walk: cheap eats and fine dining http://www.hellenicrepublic.com.au/
• Lots of local bars (several within 5min, and a nice collection 1.5km away on Lygon)
• Great local bottle shop (4min) www.brunswickeastwine.com
• Supermarkets (smaller one 4min walk, larger one 10min walk)

Nearby outdoor things:
• Merri Creek track: great for running, cycling paths, nearby velodrome, sports fields, playgrounds (5min run away)
• Lots of nearby parks with quality playgrounds within 10min walk
• Upfield bike path (alternative bike path to access the city)
• Brunswick Baths (2km 8min ride): 50m, 25m, playpool and gym
• Ceres community environmental park, café and plant nursery (15min walk)

More things for kids:
• Brunswick library (2km, 8min ride)
• Melbourne Zoo (3.5km, 15min, 25min walk-train)
• Melbourne Museum (5km, 18m bike ride)

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0

 
Suited for
5 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Saturday, August 4, 2018 until Sunday, January 27, 2019
Minimum Stay
6 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Would prefer longer stay
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Brunswick
Postal Code - State or Province 3056 VIC
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords
Closest University Melbourne University
University nearby RMIT, VCA, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Royal Children's Hospital, Royal Women's Hospital, St Vincent's Hospital




Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 750 Weekly

Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
No
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Long Term

Amenities:

  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Garden
  • Baby Furniture
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name
Status
Non-Academic Individual
SH Refer
Member referred by Alison
Contributor Contributor
(1) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Jan 18 2017
This member has no review
About Me
We are a couple of doctors (one trainee Anaesthetist, one Neurologist/PhD student) with a 4 year old daughter. We have travelled a lot - to South-East Asia, Central Asia and most recently Chile - enjoy cycling and bike touring, camping and hiking, as well as all the cultural experiences that living in inner Melbourne has to offer. Our home is set up to be environmentally conscious, with solar panels, water tank and a native garden, and we look forward to sharing it with like-minded people.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 6 + 15 =


Reviews

This member has no review