Home for Rent


Glebe 2037 Australia

Listing # 67566


Rates From AUD 800 Weekly
Independent Scholar Referred Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(6)
Last Updated: Thursday, October 3, 2019

Sunny 2 br Glebe home with sweeping city views: walk to CBD, Sydney Uni, UTS and RPA; utilities included

Our comfortable and well-equipped semi-detached terrace house is on three levels, with city skyline and water views over Blackwattle Bay its from two rear balconies. The house has two main bedrooms; both city-facing and one with a balcony and panoramic views. The kitchen-dining area also has a city-facing balcony where there is a Baby Weber BBQ. The kitchen is equipped with a Fisher and Paykel upside down fridge/freezer, LG dishwasher, Smeg gas cooktop with electric oven, and a microwave oven. The lounge has a bookshelf/TV unit with a Sony Bravia 101 cm (55-inch) flat-screen TV and a CD player. The TV offers a cable service for free-to-air TV and on-demand TV channels. The study/office has two desks, a Canon printer and Telstra wi-fi modem. There are 1.5 bathrooms (one doubles as a laundry with washer, dryer, hand-wash tub, shower and WC). A second 'sitting room' - on the lowest level - opens onto a patio and a small garden; it can be used as a third or 'guest' bedroom. As well as cable broadband internet access, the house has a landline telephone.

The house is 2-minute walk to buses and light rail (tram) access to the CBD. It is a 20-25 min walk to the CBD/Darling Harbour and is also an easy walk, bike or bus ride to three universities: Sydney University, University of Technology Sydney (UTS), and Notre Dame University. The house is also on direct bus routes to the University of New South Wales (UNSW) and Royal Prince Alfred hospital (RPA). It is also very conveniently located for the International Grammar School (IGS), Sydney Secondary College Blackwattle Bay Campus and local primary and pre-schools.

The house is a 5-minute walk to the Bicentennial Park waterfront walkway to Blackwattle Bay, White Bay, harbour foreshore and the renowned Sydney Fish Market with its excellent range of seafood and deli shopping. On-street parking is available (with permit) and there is a Go Get (car-share) point only 10m from the house. Glebe Point Road (GPR) is well provided with restaurants and cafes (Asian, Italian, Indian, Lebanese, Sri Lankan etc), fresh food shops, including greengrocers, a butcher and bulk foods - nuts, grains etc as well as newsagents, pharmacies and dry cleaners. The Broadway Shopping Centre with Coles and Aldi supermarkets, Harris Farm Markets and many specialty shops is just a few minutes away. Also within walking distance are two 50-metre swimming pools: Victoria Park Swimming Centre, close to Sydney University. It has a heated outdoor pool. The Ian Thorpe Aquatic Centre is an indoor multi-pool facility in nearby Ultimo. The St James tennis courts are a short walk away and we can leave tennis racquets for you if you are interested. The local area is well served by medical facilities, including Royal Prince Alfred Hospital.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
120 Sq. Meters
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Saturday, May 16, 2020 until Saturday, October 31, 2020
Minimum Stay
6 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
We prefer to let for longer periods; precise dates are negotiable
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Glebe
Postal Code - State or Province 2037 NSW
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords Glebe
Closest University University of Sydney, University of Technology, Notre Dame University; Royal Prince Alfred Hospital.
University nearby Australian Catholic University




Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 800 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
Rent negotiable for rentals of 11 weeks or more
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Short Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: There is a Baby Weber gas BBQ on the main balcony.

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable
Small Children Safe
Negotiable
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
SH Refer
Member referred by Ian Johnson

This party posted the following feedback for me:
'We met Derek and Margaret through mutual friends while looking for a property in France (we live less than 30 minutes apart in both Sydney and France!). Their house in Sydney is comfortable and extremely well situated, and they are delightful people. Book with confidence.'
Contributor
Matched Member
(6) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Feb 23 2012
This member has 6 reviews
About Me
We are two freelance authors and editors in academic and general publishing areas. We work for major publishers such as Readers Digest and the Macquarie Dictionary as well as small independent publishers.We divide our time between Sydney and South-West France where we own a comfortable converted barn in a small village.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 14 + 14 =
This member has 1 other listing
Listing No.TitleTypeView

Rental

#78034
La Vieille Grange offers family accommodation in a converted stone barn in a pretty hamlet, Dordogne Valley Offered View
1

Reviews

This member has 6 reviews
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
This is the nicest of 6 homes I've rented in the Inner West. Spacious and with a beautiful view, one block from Glebe Point Road. Derek and Margaret were perfect: friendly, responsive, not fussy. You can live in the kitchen/dining room and the back bedroom which is where the sunlight is. The front rooms are darker but perfectly comfortable. and the study up front is spacious if you need it. The neighborhood has everything you need within a block or two, and the access to both bus and light-rail (both 2 minute walk) made it easy to get around. Victoria Park and Pool are a treasure, ,maybe 12 minute walk away but also on the bus lines. Excellent Richard Cohn 8/17/2019 7:50:00 PM
My family and I stayed in Derek's and Margaret's house for 3 months and we had a great time. The house is very comfortable, clean and spacious, and it has an amazing view of the city. Derek and Margaret are wonderful hosts and helped us whenever we had a request. I highly recommend this house! Excellent Alice 9/10/2018 12:10:00 AM
We are a family of 5 from Canada and we spent a month in Sydney and stayed in Margaret and Derek's Glebe home. We loved every minute of it! The house is cozy, well-appointed and situated in friendly Glebe, close to a multitude of restaurants, cafes and bakeries. and in close proximity to Darling Harbour. University of Sydney is within 5 min drive or you can walk in under 30min, the large Broadway mall is within 15 min walking as well. The house has great views of the CBD. Moreover, Margaret and Derek are very gracious hosts. Thank you, we will definitely return! Excellent harus 10/29/2017 6:13:00 PM
Our family (parents and a three year old) stayed in Derek’s and Margaret’s house for eight weeks. The house is very spacious and well kept. The location of the house is perfect; it is close to CDB, wonderful parks, shops and restaurants. Public transportation is working well, and many of the key locations are at walking distance. We enjoyed our walks in the surrounding areas as well as spending nights at home cooking and barbequing. The amenities met all our expectations and we truly enjoyed our stay. Derek and Margaret are wonderful hosts and they provided us all the information and help we needed. Without hesitation, we recommend this house to other visitors. Excellent MariK 9/14/2016 11:34:00 PM
My family (spouse and 14 year old son) thoroughly enjoyed our one and a half month stay in this home in Glebe. The view of the city was fantastic and the home extremely comfortable. There were plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and good public transit with the light rail and buses. The owners were quite easy to work with and we had no difficulties at all during our stay. We would recommend this to other visitors without reservation. Excellent RV 9/16/2014 8:32:00 PM
1 2