Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Bearsden United Kingdom

Listing # 115317


Rates From GBP 400 Weekly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Saturday, June 17, 2017

Traditional 2-bed home with beautiful garden in Bearsden (Glasgow), Scotland

We are a family of academics from Glasgow University. We have a beautiful Bearsden 1840s built sandstone home to offer for rent or for home exchange with Australia (where we spend some time every year). The accommodation in our house comprises of the following:
-a spacious hallway
-large living room with working fireplace, a desk, sofa, TV& entertainment
-dining room & kitchen (open plan) with modern kitchen including a dishwasher and the usual kitchen appliances and utensils, stand-up desk which converts into a large dining table of regular dining table height and a sofa which can convert into a bed
-small toilet / laundry room
-family bathroom
-large, wide stairs to the first floor
-master bedroom
-very spacious children's bedroom with bunk beds (extra small mattress available for a 3rd child, although the bunk beds are double so there should be enough space for more than 2 children
-beautiful garden with both decking and grass areas

The house is on a peaceful, leafy residential street, and has an elevated position which gives beautiful vies from all windows. We are walking distance away from the train station (for direct trains to Glasgow West end, 10 min away, to the city centre of Glasgow, 20 min away, and to Edinburgh city centre, 1 hour away). We are also a 20-min drive from the famous Loch Lomond and from Aberfoyle for lovely views and hikes for nature lovers.

The nearest supermarket is a 5-minute walk away and nearby there are also a couple of restaurants and 3 coffee places and one trendy bar and one pub.

We have a male cat who is entirely self sufficient and spends most of his time outdoors, and does not require any care, but who we must mention to avoid disappointment due to any allergies.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
100 Sq. Meters
Suited for
5 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Thursday, June 29, 2017 until Friday, August 11, 2017
Available from Sunday, December 3, 2017 until Saturday, January 6, 2018
Available from Friday, June 29, 2018 until Sunday, August 12, 2018
Minimum Stay
3 day(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Bearsden
Postal Code - State or Province Scotland
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Bearsden old town
Closest University University of Glasgow
University nearby Glasgow Caledonian University, University o West of Scotland




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Brisbane City
City
Brisbane City
Postal Code
4000

QLD
Country
Australia

Neighborhood Keywords
Brisbane, Coomera, Bilinga
Closest University
QUT, University of Queensland, Southern Cross University
University nearby
Griffith University
Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Sunday, December 3, 2017 until Saturday, January 6, 2018


Destination 2: Melbourne
City
Melbourne
Postal Code
3004

VIC
Country
Australia


Closest University
University of Melbourne

RMIT
Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Sunday, December 3, 2017 until Saturday, January 6, 2018

Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 400 Weekly

Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: We have bunk beds in one of the 2 bedrooms

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Care for Plants
Housesitting Comments
this is negotiable, depending on the length of stay

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Nov 2 2016
This member has no review
About Me
I am in my mid 30s and I have been an academic for 10 years including my PhD years. My husband is an academic, too, and we sometimes travel together. We have two daughters who are super well behaved and no problem at all, when we choose to them them with us. My research is on public management and my husband's, on accounting and control. We are going to be in Australia in December 2016 and looking for a place to stay. We'll be in the Gold Coast area for most of the time but we'll also reach Sydney. We don't travel extensively and when we do it is normally for work. We work with colleagues in Australia and Europe, but need for other destinations can emerge in the future.
http://www.gla.ac.uk/schools/business/staff/adinadudau/

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Adina_Dudau2

https://accountingandaccountabilityirspm.wordpress.com/meet-the-board-2/

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 8 + 13 =


Reviews

This member has no review