Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Bondi Junction 2022 Australia

Listing # 112708


Rates From AUD 1200 Weekly
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Monday, October 22, 2018

Sydney: Eastern Suburbs, 3-bedroom Victorian house with modern extension and pool

LOCATION
Our home is a 10-minute flat walk to the transport hub of Bondi Junction, or you can catch a bus from our corner to the BJ bus-rail interchange. From there, you can readily access all inner-city universities and teaching hospitals by public transport.
Approximate times by car are: UNSW, 15 minutes; The University of Sydney, 25 minutes; UTS, 20 minutes; Notre Dame, 15 minutes; Charles Darwin, 20 minutes. Ditto major hospitals: Prince of Wales, 15 minutes; St Vincent’s, 12 minutes; RPA, 25 minutes.

THE HOUSE
The main bedroom has a king-size bed and the second has a double, plus a desk. The third, which is currently used as a playroom for our grandchildren, has a double foldout sofa bed. We have a wooden baby's cot which can be assembled in this room. All bedrooms have built-in wardrobes - we use the tops for storage but there's plenty of space for guests' clothes - but none has an en suite bathroom, as we didn't want to spoil the original character of the house.
This (front) part of the house also features a double lounge-dining room with antique furniture, piano, stereo and gas "coal" fire, with a lovely private verandah at the front.
The main bathroom has a large tub and separate shower, while the second bathroom, which doubles as a laundry, has a shower, washing machine and dryer.
The new section comprises a large open-plan kitchen, casual dining area and family room, with 106cm flat-screen TV, DVD player and stereo, plus many books, CDs and DVDs, as well as a gas-flame fireplace. This was recently tiled and there are two new sofas (pix to come). It opens via glass bifold doors on to a dining terrace, overlooking the pool, with mains gas barbecue.
The garage, accessed via the rear lane, has a small bathroom attached, perfect for post-swim showering.

LOCAL AREA & GETTING AROUND
We are well served by public transport, with numerous bus routes running past the end of our street and even more on Bondi Road, a five-minute walk away. The city centre is around 5km, or three stops on the train.
There are also ferry services from Double Bay wharf.
Bondi and Tamarama beaches are about 2km away – an easy downhill walk – and Bronte, with its magical ocean pool, is only a little further.
Our area is blessed with an abundance of parkland, including the 190-hectare Centennial Park. Sydney Harbour National Park contains natural bushland and wonderful swimming beaches. Our ocean beaches also have parks, with barbecue and picnic facilities.

EATING & SHOPPING
Opportunities for eating out (or ordering a home delivery) are seemingly endless. Within walking distance you can eat Vietnamese, Indian, Thai, Italian, Israeli, tapas, burgers, pizza, fish and chips ... We can recommend favourites for you.
Sydneysiders are obsessed with drinking good coffee and going out for breakfast/brunch, so café culture is alive and well locally.
Bondi Junction shopping mecca includes a large cinema complex. A half-hour downhill stroll will bring you to fashionable Double Bay or you can catch a bus. Trendy Paddington is a short bus ride away.

EXERCISE OPTIONS
There is a 4km level walking track around Centennial Park. You can also hire a horse or bike here.
A favourite with locals and visitors is the oceanfront clifftop track from Bondi to Bronte Beach, with exercise stations along the way. If you’re feeling energetic, you can keep going to Coogee Beach.
Then there's the 5km Federation Walk, which stretches from just past North Bondi beach to harbourfront Watsons Bay (great pub here for fish and chips).
There are tennis courts in nearby Cooper Park and Waverley Park, numerous golf courses, a skate park at Bondi Beach and many other sporting facilities.

CLEANING
We have a team of four cleaners who come for one hour every fortnight. If you wish, we can arrange for them to continue this service, at your expense (currently $125 per service).

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
3
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
425 Sq. Meters
Suited for
6 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Friday, December 28, 2018 until Saturday, January 5, 2019
Available from Friday, February 1, 2019 until Friday, March 1, 2019
Minimum Stay
5 day(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Minimum of 5 days applies to New Year period only. In February 2019, minimum stay is 2 weeks.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Bondi Junction
Postal Code - State or Province 2022 NSW
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords Eastern Suburbs
Closest University University of NSW
University nearby The University of Sydney, UTS, Charles Darwin, Notre Dame




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: New York
City
New York

State or Province
NY
Country
United States of America




Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Monday, May 13, 2019 until Saturday, July 13, 2019


Destination 2: London
City
London


England
Country
United Kingdom







Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 1200 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
Please note: The rate for New Year is higher and calculated by the day.
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Long Term
  • Available for Short Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Reserved Parking
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Care for Plants
Housesitting Comments
We'd appreciate having our back and front gardens and outdoor pot plants watered, especially when there has been no rain.

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Apr 19 2017
This member has no review
About Me
I am an alumna of The University of Sydney, while my partner Alan attended the University of New South Wales. We have both had long careers in print journalism (a century between us) and, while still engaging in freelance work, devote as much time as possible to travelling, both in Australia and overseas. Our daughter, her partner and their baby live in North London, and we're always interested in exchanges in the area. As we have three young grandchildren in Australia, furniture, toys and books for babies and preschoolers are available, if needed. Since 2010, we have enjoyed 20 home exchanges with like-minded travellers.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 12 + 1 =
This member has 1 other listing
Listing No.TitleTypeView

Sit

#121952
Simultaneous or non-simultaneous exchange wanted - Sydney for ManhattanWanted View
1

Reviews

This member has no review