Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Cambridge Massachusetts 02140 United States of America

Listing # 136998


Rates From USD 4200 Monthly
Independent Scholar
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Charming 1873 attached single family home near Porter Square

Our 3 bedroom home combines modern amenities with 19th century charm. We have original wide pine floors throughout, and our recently renovated first floor boasts a modern built-in wood stove in the living room, a kitchen that is open to the dining room over a large granite peninsula, and seating for three at the counter that looks on our private backyard, with porch, gas grill, patio and dining table. The first floor also includes a new bathroom with shower. On the second floor, we have two large bedrooms and one smaller bedroom, all with built in cabinets/closets for storage. The upstairs bathroom is spacious, and includes a shower and bathtub. Off the master bedroom, there is a newly-installed deck, perfect for enjoying the birds and morning coffee among the trees. We have room for one car in off street parking along the side of the house, but a car is far from necessary as our location earns a 91 walk score; "a walker's paradise" according to walkscore.com. We are a 6 minute walk from both Porter and Davis Square, a 3 minute walk from tennis courts, a basketball court, and playground, and 7 minutes from Cambridge's largest park where there are fields and playgrounds, and in the summer live music and theater offerings. We are also a 15 minute walk from Fresh Pond (wonderful walking and running there). If you are at Harvard for the summer, it's a 20-25 minute walk down Mass Ave, or a short bus or subway ride. MIT is a 35-40 minute walk or a short bus or train ride as well. There is so much to do in Cambridge in the summer, you may not feel the need to leave but if you have an inkling to go to Boston for museums, theater or music, that's easy on the subway. If you are adventurous, you might borrow our bikes and head over the Charles yourselves. We have free washer and dryer in the basement. The basement also includes a semi-finished rec room with a 55" TV and pull out couch. In the summer months, we would not recommend someone staying in the basement as it can be a little damp in the height of the summer. It's fine for a short visit for a few days (we have hosted soccer coaches there every summer for the last several years) but we do not recommend it as a room for a family member for the duration of your stay. We love our home and neighborhood and are free to answer any questions you have!

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
1600 Sq. Feet
Suited for
5 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, July 1, 2020 until Friday, July 31, 2020
Available from Tuesday, September 1, 2020 until Saturday, June 12, 2021
Minimum Stay
4 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Dates are somewhat flexible
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Cambridge
Postal Code - State or Province 02140 MA
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords Porter Square, North Cambridge, Davis Square
Closest University Harvard
University nearby Tufts, MIT, Lesley




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Valencia
City
Valencia


Valencian Community
Country
Spain




Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Tuesday, September 1, 2020 until Tuesday, June 1, 2021


Destination 2: Seville
City
Seville


AL
Country
Spain




Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Tuesday, September 1, 2020 until Tuesday, June 1, 2021

Rental Price:

Asked
USD 4200 Monthly

Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Long Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Nov 16 2019
This member has no review
About Me
We are a family of four, two PhDs who chose to work outside traditional academia, and two growing sons, ages 10 and 13. We have lived in Cambridge since 2001, and love the neighborhoods, green space, and proximity to beautiful hikes and water destinations. We're looking to share our home and wonderful community with similar families while we have some adventures of our own abroad.
https://www.linkedin.com/in/karen-shakman-7865737/

https://www.linkedin.com/in/jonathan-ledlie-16b6308/

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 13 + 5 =


Reviews

This member has no review