Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Clarence Park 5034 Australia

Listing # 110682


Rates From AUD 1800 Monthly
Independent Scholar
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Sunday, January 28, 2018

Our peaceful oasis 5 km from the CBD

We are an academic and a bookseller working in Europe and our Adelaide home is therefore available part of the year, which can be flexible as to duration and time.

Five kms from the city centre, our late 1970s semi-detached house is amazingly serene. The noise you will hear in the morning is birds, but we're 300 metres from the bus to town, eight minutes' walk to the train. If you are early for the bus, great coffee is right next to the stop. At the end of our street is another cafe and a lovely secondhand bookshop.

Ten minutes' walk away are a 24 hour gym, a supermarket and chemist. If you need a 2am bottle of milk, there is 24 hour Star Mart about 3 minutes' walk. If you want a free workout, our local park (about 100 metres away) has outdoor gym equipment.

The bus goes past the Farmers' Market (10 minutes), the Central Market (25 minutes), Adelaide University, the Botanic Gardens, the Mall, the East End. In the other direction it ends at the very large Marion Shopping Centre, 30 minutes. The train takes you into town in one direction and the beach in the other, not to mention the 1920s Windsor Theatre which is still showing two movies in a session for $10.

A pleasant walk of twenty minutes sees you at the tram which goes to the beach and the shops of Glenelg in one direction and town/the Entertainment centre in the other. Next to the tram stop are nice cafes.

It is ten minutes on foot to the Goodwood Rd busses which go to town, past the market, the Festival theatre, through North Adelaide and up to Prospect's cafe strip and, in the other direction, Flinders Uni.

Local walks? Within thirty minutes are the Wayville Farmers' market, cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous art deco Capri cinema on Goodwood Rd; and a similar precinct on King William St Hyde Park. Add on another 10 minutes and you have more of the same on Unley Rd. These walks are all lovely, we live in an area with lots of trees and beautiful gardens. It's an area where people move in to stay because it's easy to fall in love with living around here. Our neighbours are all very nice and quiet.

In our house. Our house is suitable for one person or a couple. It has two bedrooms, but we use one as an office and we'll be storing our personal items there, so there will be no access to it.

The loungeroom has a comfy sofa and reupholstered vintage chairs. As we love to cook, our kitchen is well equipped - no microwave, but plenty of quality pots and pans, crockery and cutlery for eight, tea pots, coffee pot for the stove, electric grinder for beans. The oven and hotplates are gas. We don't have a dishwasher yet. The dining room has a table that seats 10, or maybe computers down one end, dining at the other. The bedroom has a queen-sized bed with drawers underneath and there is a walk-in robe. There is also a small, retro-furnished sunroom complete with sixties TV chairs that recline and are all but impossible to stay awake on.

The toilet is separate from the bathroom. The laundry has a washing machine and there is a line for hanging in the back garden. The bathroom has a walk-in shower as well as a bath. Throughout, the house has ducted reverse heating and cooling.

We have a cottage style garden, flowers out the front and fruit trees as well as a table and chairs out the back. We do have wifi, but in general are not big on technology as we read and write a lot and want to live in an atmosphere we feel is conducive to that. No TV, but theatre, bars, cinemas are all a short trip away when we want them.

As we are surrounded by good public transport we rarely use taxis, but from the airport expect to pay around $30 and from town around $20. Peak hour will be more expensive.

If you are interested in our place, maybe we could set up a skype meeting to talk about it.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
80 Sq. Meters
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, April 4, 2018 until Sunday, November 4, 2018
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Dates may be flexible
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Clarence Park
Postal Code - State or Province 5034 SA
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords
Closest University Adelaide University
University nearby University of South Australia; Flinders University; University of Adelaide




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: London
City
London


England
Country
United Kingdom

Neighborhood Keywords
close to city centre






Destination 2: Stockholm
City
Stockholm


Stockholm County
Country
Sweden







Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 1800 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments

Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Available for Short Term

Amenities:

  • Washer
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
No
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Mar 5 2014
This member has no review
About Me
We live in Geneva where my partner works at the University as a research scientist in speech technology. I work in writing/editing/bookselling. We have a place in Adelaide in which we live five months of the year with the timing having some flexibility. We could also consider exchanging/subletting for short periods our Geneva apartment. It is a large one bedroom apartment, fifth floor of a heritage building close to the lake and the Station. We are fairly cerebral, we read, write, cook, eat, walk, knit, play bridge and chess and our places reflect that.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 15 + 1 =
This member has 1 other listing
Listing No.TitleTypeView

Exchange

#117776
Our one bedroom retreat in the middle of GenevaOffered View
1

Reviews

This member has no review