Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Florence 50133 Italy

Listing # 110910


Rates From EUR 750 Weekly
Academic Pending
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Spacious family home with garden, ten minutes walk to the EUI

We are a German-Irish family with three children (aged 6, 5, and 2) who moved to Florence in September 2017. Fergal and Helen both work at the European University Institute, which is based in a former monastery in the north of Florence, halfway up one of the famous Florentine Hills in the direction of Fiesole. We chose our apartment near Via Boccaccio because it combines the benefits of living in a friendly, vibrant neighbourhood with all amenities within walking distance to Giotto's Duomo with the advantages of cleaner air and ease of access to the countryside without getting trapped in traffic. The bus stop for bus # 1, which goes to the main train station, is just around the corner, around 50 meters from where we live. Parco Pettini Burresi, one of the best playgrounds in Florence, is around 300 meters away.

The apartment, on the ground floor of a two-storey building, is located on a quiet one-way street. High ceilings (3,60 meters) and a highly effective portable AC unit ensure that it stays reasonably cool in summer. Apart from a large live-in kitchen and small separate laundry room, there are three bedrooms, one of which features an en-suite bathroom and French doors onto the garden. Upon moving here in September 2017, we invested money into comfortable beds. Two of the three double beds have brand new ergonomic mattresses with washable anti-allergic covers. As we both work from home, there are also two desks with good lighting and comfortable office chairs. All rooms have parquet floors. The window frames and most of the furniture, including kitchen cabinets, are also made of wood, lending a natural atmosphere to the whole place. This main part of the apartment is 90 m2 in size. In addition, there is also a large room (20m2) in the basement with tiled floors. It currently houses a drum kit and a large Brio train set, but could also serve as a guest room. The basement windows do not provide much light, but they allow the room to be aired, and central heating keeps it warm and dry. The garden is around 70m2 in size, with a spacious terrace and optional paddling pool.


Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
110 Sq. Meters
Suited for
6 people
Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Monday, July 1, 2019 until Saturday, August 31, 2019
Available from Saturday, December 22, 2018 until Sunday, January 13, 2019
Minimum Stay
1 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Florence
Postal Code - State or Province 50133 Toscana
Country Italy
Neighborhood Keywords Le Cure, Via Boccaccio, San Domenico, Florence, Firenze
Closest University University of Cologne
University nearby European University Institute, JMU Florence, NYU Florence, Villa Tatti, Univerita di Firenze, Georgetown University Florence




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Dublin
City
Dublin


County Dublin
Country
Ireland

Neighborhood Keywords
Dublin, Cork, Kerry, Wicklow, Wexford, Connamara


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Monday, July 1, 2019 until Saturday, August 31, 2019


Rental Price:

Asked
EUR 750 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
The rate for two weeks is 1090 Euros. The monthly rate is 1390.
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Off Campus
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Baby Furniture
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name
Status
Academic Pending Confirmation Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Pending)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Nov 17 2009
This member has no review
About Me
I am a political scientist at the Max Planck Institute (MPIfG) in Cologne. I grew up in Germany, then studied at Oxford University, Northwestern University, and Ecole Normale Superieure Paris. During the current academic year, I am a visiting fellow at the European University Institute in Florence.
http://www.mpifg.de/people/hc

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 10 + 4 =


Reviews

This member has no review