Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap or Home Sitting


Providence Rhode Island 02906 United States of America

Listing # 49805


Rates From USD 2100 Monthly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Lovely 4 BDRM home on Providence's East Side (Brown/RISD), 40 mins from Boston, Cape, Newport. Providence, the best small city in America, according to Architectural Digest!

Enjoy living in Providence, a fun and friendly city with a vibrant arts and restaurant scene, a half dozen universities (including Brown University and the Rhode Island School of Design)...while staying less than an hour from Boston, Cape Cod and the islands, Horseneck Beach, and Newport!

Our fully-furnished home, built in the late 1920s, has 4 bedrooms (or 3 bedrooms with an office) and 2 bathrooms. It has lovely wood floors, a large backyard with a garden, and a front porch. The fenced in backyard is great for barbeques, parties, sunbathing, and gardening. The kitchen has all new stainless steel appliances, with a french door out to the back yard. Laundry is in the basement, and we have wireless internet and satellite TV.

We have 2 children (ages 15 and 12), so our home is ideal for a family of 4 or 5. There is a futon bed in the playroom, so we could conceivably house 6 people. The master bedroom has a king-size bed; another bedroom has a double bed; the third bedroom has a single bed with a trundle bed under it. It is a family-friendly neighborhood -- quiet, but all the benefits of living in a vibrant arts and food city are close by.

The house is located on Providence's East Side, a lovely older neighborhood near Brown University and Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) populated by professors, doctors and creative people. Bus lines will connect you to every part of the city, though use of one of our cars is a possibility. The Amtrak train station is 5 minutes away, which you can use to get to Boston or New York City.

Hope Street is just outside the door, with excellent restaurants, cafes, a library, a park, and a bus stop just a block or two away. Two Whole Foods grocery stores are nearby, and there is a farmer's market every saturday in the park down the street. The Italian district, Federal Hill, is just 5 minutes away -- highly rated restaurants and food shopping can be found there.

Providence itself is a fun city to visit in the summer or fall. It was recently described by Architectural Digest as 'the best small city in America,' while Travel and Leisure called Providence 'America's favorite city.' In the summer, the universities and the downtown frequently have outdoor concerts and festivals. One of the most wonderful experiences Providence has to offer is "Waterfire," which takes place from May to October. WaterFire (http://waterfire.org/) is a multi-sensory art installation, highlighted by a series of bonfires installed on the three rivers of downtown Providence. Food, drink, and live music and performers make it feel like Mardi Gras! The downtown arts and entertainment district features the nationally renowned Trinity theater, as well as the world-class RISD Museum.

To learn more about things to do in Providence, go to:
http://www.goprovidence.com/things-to-do/.
http://www.gq.com/story/providence-city-guide
http://www.architecturaldigest.com/story/providence-rhode-island-guide-hotels-restaurants-shops-article
http://www.travelandleisure.com/blogs/5-reasons-to-visit-providence-now

Terrific beaches are close by -- Horseneck is just 20 minutes away, and Cape Cod is an hour away. Ferries from New Bedford (40 minutes away) can get you to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket; Ferries from Port Judith (30 minutes away) can get you to Block Island. Boston is a 40 minute train ride; New York City is 2 hours on the fast train.

I am an American history professor, my wife is an architect and a photographer, who currently works for a non-profit that encourages urban farming. We are hoping to exchange our home, or rent it, so that we can live abroad for a portion of the summer of 2018 -- anything between 2 weeks and 5 weeks would be ideal. If you have children, there are lots of fun and wholesome summer camps for them, which we can help you locate (along with playdates with peers!).

I teach at the University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth, about 30 minutes away. You are welcome to use my office there as well. Library privileges can be arranged.

We hope to be away for 3-5 weeks, during the summer of 2018.

For a home exchange, we are hoping to go to Europe. Paris, Florence, Bologna, Venice, Amsterdam, Portugal, Barcelona, London are preferred, but we are open to other cities (a city is preferred). Possibly open to a city not in Europe -- just ask.

You can email Mark at msantow@umassd.edu, if you have any questions. we will post photographs shortly.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
4
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
2000 Sq. Feet
Suited for
6 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Sunday, July 1, 2018 until Friday, August 31, 2018
Minimum Stay
3 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
We're really looking for anything between 3 weeks and 5 weeks
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Providence
Postal Code - State or Province 02906 RI
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords East Side
Closest University Brown, RISD, Boston area universities
University nearby all Boston area universities




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Paris
City
Paris


Île-de-France
Country
France




Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Saturday, July 1, 2017 until Thursday, August 31, 2017


Destination 2:



Country
Italy




Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Saturday, July 1, 2017 until Thursday, August 31, 2017

Destination 3: Amsterdam
City
Amsterdam


NH


Country
Netherlands


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Saturday, July 1, 2017 until Thursday, August 31, 2017

Rental Price:

Asked
USD 2100 Monthly

Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Some
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Baby Furniture
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Jan 29 2010
This member has no review
About Me
I am a professor of American History. My wife, my 2 children (ages 15 and 12) and I are looking to rent our home, or exchange homes in the summer of 2018. We prefer to re-locate to a European city.
http://www.marksantow.com

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 10 + 7 =


Reviews

This member has no review