Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


London W6 7BL United Kingdom

Listing # 93668


Rates From GBP 2500 Monthly
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(1)
Last Updated: Thursday, November 22, 2018

Lovely top floor flat in Brooke Green close to Holland Park and Notting Hill

Bright top floor flat with many windows in period red brick mansion block in lovely Brook Green neighbourhood of West Kensington. Flexible dates. Close to Holland Park, Shepherds Bush, Hammersmith, Notting Hill. White oak floors throughout. Beautiful mixture of old and modern furniture and decorations. Clean Scandinavian feel. Freshly painted. Sit-down newly renovated kitchen with skylight. One large bedroom with a wall of cupboards. A large living room/bedroom (with daybed or double bed). Bright renovated bathroom. Excellent transport (tube/buses/over-ground trains), food shops, cafes and restaurants (including Westfield Mall) close by. Saturday food market on my street. City bike hire docking station seconds away. 15 minute bike ride or 25/30 minute walk to the Thames with beautiful walking paths, pubs, rowing schools, etc. No pets. No smoking.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
67 Sq. Meters
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Friday, February 1, 2019 until Sunday, June 30, 2019
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City London
Postal Code - State or Province W6 7BL
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Brook Green
Closest University University of London
University nearby London School of Economics, School of Oriental and African Studies, etc




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!


Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 2500 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
depends on length of stay
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Other: daybed in living room serves as second bed

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable
Small Children Safe
Negotiable
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Feb 18 2015
This member has 1 review
About Me
I'm an independent consultant, media development specialist and journalist with 30+ years of professional experience. I'm currently working in Burma/Myanmar. In 2011 I completed a Masters of Science in Migration, Mobility and Development at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London.
https://www.linkedin.com/pub/jane-mcelhone/10/976/856

www.voicesontherise.org

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/5498608

This member has referred 1 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 11 + 5 =


Reviews

This member has 1 review
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
Overall my experience was positive at Jane's flat.

The location is very convenient to public transit at Shepherd's Bush underground (7 min walk) and a bit further to Hammersmith (15 min walk). Jane leaves plenty of information on where to get groceries, cafes etc. and everything is quite convenient. The street is very quiet - it was VERY rare for me to hear street noise. I found the bed comfortable (soft, not firm), as well as the day bed in the living room. I loved the trees all around, and the amount of light in the flat. Note that it's a third floor walkup, so there are lots of stairs - be prepared for some strain when hauling luggage up and down! But I appreciated being on the top floor, with no noisy neighbors above, as well as for safety and security. I also appreciated that the flat felt homey, filled with Jane's books and artifacts from Burma.

The kitchen is well-equipped with everything you need for meal preparation - good stove, oven, microwave etc. The eat-in kitchen can feel a bit crowded with the table, cupboard, washing machine etc. but that's very typical London!

My only (relatively minor) complaints - keeping in mind that no place is perfect - were: The bathroom tub/shower, which I believe Jane said she is re-doing. At the time of my stay, the shower fixture was not attached to the wall, so you had to hold it over yourself as you showered, and set it down in order to use shampoo, soap etc. This is cold and inconvenient. Additionally, the clearance on the ceiling is low in the tub, due to the way the space has been converted, so it wouldn't work well for a tall person (above 5'8" or so), though it was okay for me. Again, my understanding is that this is to be redone. Second, the washing machine's dryer feature doesn't work (Jane noted to me - I didn't try it), so drying linens and towels involved me hauling them downstairs to the laundromat, which gets expensive. I certainly don't expect a dryer everywhere - most people in the world don't use them! - but in a higher-end apartment that doesn't have much room in the kitchen for hanging things, and no space for outside drying, it would make life easier. A suggestion for a future upgrade :).

Jane was very quick to respond throughout my stay about any small issues or questions. Only once did I experience a delay in response from her, after I left, but I know she was in transit herself at the time. Thank you, Jane, for a nice stay at your place!

Good Aimee B. 1/9/2019 3:31:00 AM
1