Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Ottawa Ontario K1Y 0H4 Canada

Listing # 143804


Rates From CAD 3500 Monthly
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Comfortable home in a leafy urban neighbourhood of Ottawa

Character detached home in a leafy urban neighbourhood of Ottawa. Located in trendy Wellington Village literally steps from fine food stores, boutiques, yoga studios, bars, restaurants, supermarkets, and public transit, this house has a walkability score of 100. It is on a quiet residential street, equidistant from Carleton University and the University of Ottawa (a 15-min drive or a 30-min bike ride from each); a 10-minute walk from the Ottawa River with its kilometers of groomed hiking, biking and cross-country ski trails; and a two-minute drive from the bridge connecting Ontario to the Gatineau Hills and nature parks of Quebec. On the ground floor, there is a living room with gas fireplace, a dining room, a large kitchen, a 3-piece bathroom, a family room/office and a laundry/utility closet. The upper level has the master bedroom with a king-sized bed, two smaller bedrooms each with queen-sized beds, and a 4-piece bathroom. The basement has a comfortable guest room with twin beds (that can be joined into a California king), and a 4-piece ensuite bathroom. The house is beautifully and comfortably furnished, with radiant heat in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. It has beautiful perennial gardens, a large grapevine-covered deck with gas barbecue, and a fully-fenced back yard with patio.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
4
Number of Bathrooms
3
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
1800 Sq. Feet
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, December 15, 2021 until Friday, April 15, 2022
Minimum Stay
4 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
15 December 2021 - 15 April 2022
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Ottawa
Postal Code - State or Province K1Y 0H4 ON
Country Canada
Neighborhood Keywords Wellington Village, leafy, urban, centrally-located, detached
Closest University Carleton University & University of Ottawa
University nearby Algonquin College




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Victoria
City
Victoria

State or Province
BC
Country
Canada

Neighborhood Keywords
Central


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Saturday, January 15, 2022 until Friday, April 1, 2022


Destination 2: Los Angeles
City
Los Angeles

State or Province
CA
Country
United States of America

Neighborhood Keywords
Central, Los Feliz, Silver Lake, Hollywood, Glendale


Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Wednesday, December 15, 2021 until Saturday, January 15, 2022

Rental Price:

Asked
CAD 3500 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Includes all utilities, snow removal, and bi-weekly housekeeping.
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Off Campus

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: Well-equipped gourmet kitchen

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Care for Plants
Housesitting Comments
Snow service is provided for the front porch, walk and driveway, but tenants should clear a narrow path from the back door to the gate/driveway in the event of fire. Bi-weekly housekeeping is included in the rental price.

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Mar 28 2021
This member has no review
About Me
My husband Richard and I are retirees from long careers in international development for non-governmental organizations and the UN. We are currently based in Ottawa, Canada. We have lived, worked and/or traveled in over 80 countries. Most recently, we spent 16 years in Italy, where we restored a 500-year-old farmhouse and developed and managed the property as a successful guest house. We have sons in Los Angeles and (soon to be) New Zealand. We are seeking home-like settings where we can settle in and just be, in Los Angeles, Victoria BC, and the South Island of New Zealand. We have extensive experience as home exchangers, and as house and pet sitters. We are clean, quiet and responsible. In North America, we travel with our well-behaved miniature schnauzer, and we welcome the opportunity to care for other dogs. Richard is a compulsive perennial gardener. I am an amateur photographer and scribe. We both love to walk around cities, we enjoy cooking, and we need peace and quiet.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 2 + 9 =


Reviews

This member has no review