Home for Rent or House to Share

Greater London SW4 9LR United Kingdom

Listing # 117316

Rates From GBP 900 Monthly
Academic Verified VIP Contributor
About Member
Last Updated: Sunday, January 24, 2021

Lovely light sunny loft and separate kitchen in Clapham, South London

This is a loft space at the top of my house. It's a big, light room, with french doors and lots of windows, with a double bed, desk, shelves, lots of storage, comfortable chairs and TV. There is a also separate, sunny kitchen for your sole use, with a table and quite a lot of space, and a good sized shower room for your sole use. The space is warm and quiet and feels quite private. But you will be sharing and walking through my house, and living above me, so I'm looking for someone pleasant and reasonably quiet. A longish let, 3 months or more, is preferred. The house is in Clapham, which is a popular, pleasant area of inner South London, with good shops, a big open grassy Common, and very good bus, underground and train connections. The monthly payment includes all utilities (water, electricity,heating, wifi) and all taxes; also basic cleaning once a week. The area is easily accessible to central London and East London (Zone 2). Other inhabitants are myself, and a cat, and I quite often have guests. Non-smokers only please: definitely no smoking in the house.


Number of Bedrooms
Number of Bathrooms
Number of Offices

Suited for
1 people
Property Type
Studio or Loft


Available from Friday, October 1, 2021 onward
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Comments on Dates
Flexible about length but long let preferred.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Greater London
Postal Code - State or Province SW4 9LR England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Clapham
Closest University South Bank University
University nearby UCL, LSE, SOAS, Queen Mary, Kings

Rental Price:

GBP 900 Monthly

Rent Negotiable
Utilities Included
Cleaning Services Included


  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus


  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • High Speed Internet
  • Stairs
  • TV
  • Other:


Kid Friendly
Small Children Safe
Smoke Free
Pets Welcome
Car Available

Perform Housesitting Duties?:


About Member

Name (Alias)
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
Inner Circle Inner Circle: Long-term members and contributors to SabbaticalHomes.com
Matched Member
(4) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Sep 3 2017
This member has 3 reviews
About Me
I am a semi-retired but still active academic. I'm an economist who has worked mainly on health systems and access to medicines in African countries, so I travel quite often. I am offering a lovely newish loft space at the top of my house: a large bedroom/sitting room/ work room. Also a kitchen large enough to eat in and indeed work in, and a good sized shower room. The other inhabitants are me and a young cat (so cat haters, those with allergies to cats, will be better elsewhere), and quite often guests. The rooms are quiet, looking south east over gardens, and I'm looking for someone who also wants a peaceful space. The location is very convenient for south and central London, close to a Northern Line tube stop (Clapham Common).

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
Your Email
Message Help
Human? Please answer: 7 + 8 =


This member has 3 reviews
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
Exactly as advertised. A very quiet, sunny, warm space at the top of the house in an excellent location for south and central London, plus good range of supermarkets etc very nearby. Internet fast and reliable, and the kitchen has everything you would need. Easygoing living arrangements - highly recommend! Excellent Fiona 1/1/2020 12:27:00 PM
I spent the 2018-19 academic year in Maureen Mackintosh's wonderful loft at the top of her house. The space is calm, quiet, light, spacious and airy, the location excellent for transport, shops and services, and Maureen is a a very friendly, fair, and clear landlady/housemate. Excellent Emanuela Bianchi 8/31/2019 8:11:00 AM
I stayed in Maureen’s loft for about six months: it was marvellous! The area near Clapham Common was beautiful and convenient for commuting plus had plenty of shops and restaurants, etc. The loft was extremely comfortable and clean and had all the amenities you would want including your own shower room and kitchen (appliances and utensils) with washer. Maureen was a great host: helpful and accommodating. I enjoyed her humour and approach to life. We were easily able to ‘live our own lives’ in the same space. Highly recommended as a host. Excellent Sam 8/6/2018 10:33:00 PM