Home for Rent or House to Share


Greater London E4 8EW United Kingdom

Listing # 117646


Rates From GBP 540 Monthly
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(2)
Last Updated: Sunday, March 29, 2020

DOUBLE BEDROOM WITH ENSUITE BATHROOM

We have 1 large attractive room with its own private bathroom to rent in our quiet family home in suburban North-East London.

The room has a double wardrobe, chest of drawers, double bed, kettle, fridge and tv, and table and chairs for eating/studying.

Use of our kitchen for cooking is included, washing machine and dryer for clothes and we have a pleasant garden which you are welcome to share. Utilities including Wifi are included.

Transportation: We are outside the central zone but on several bus routes which connect with tube and train services (Walthamstow Central - Victoria Line, Highams Park - Overground to Liverpool Street) that service central London. From our home to UCL/British Library/Russell Square districts takes around 60 minutes door-to-door and we are part of the London "Oystercard" network in TFL zone 4. Uber is available in our area, and we also have off-street parking.

Our Area: In our local area of Chingford there are many restaurants and shops for groceries, gyms and parks and we are near to the historical Epping Forest. Our area is pretty peaceful and suburban, ethnically-diverse and friendly but not far from Walthamstow/Tottenham/Hackney which are livelier urban areas with bars/clubs etc.

About Us: We are a family of 2 professional adults (law and creative industries) and 2 small kids (aged 2 and 5 years). We like meeting and hosting lodgers of all different nationalities. We speak a bit of Spanish and French.

Drop us an email with any questions, we look forward to hearing from you!

Please note: We are a non-smoking home and we don't permit overnight guests/subletting.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0

 
Suited for
1 people
Property Type
Room in Private Home

Availability:

Available from Tuesday, September 1, 2020 until Thursday, December 31, 2020
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Ideally we'd be looking for someone for at least 1 month but open to negotation
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Greater London
Postal Code - State or Province E4 8EW England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords London, Chingford, Highams Park, Walthamstow, Waltham Forest, Essex
Closest University UCL, Central St Martins
University nearby UCL, IOE, SOAS, University of the Arts, University of Westminster, North Middlesex University Hospital




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 540 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Rent is usually payable monthly in advance and a deposit of £250 to be held.
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • TV
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable
Small Children Safe
Negotiable
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Sep 26 2017
This member has 2 reviews
About Me
Business grad and solicitor based in Chingford NE London, British but Spanish also spoken. Experience of living in Spain and USA.
http://remiharrisconsulting.com/

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 6 + 7 =


Reviews

This member has 2 reviews
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
Close to local amenities including Epping Forest; en suite, garden, light, spacious — all these great value things — but above all else Remi and her family are thoughtful and kind. We kept on extending our stay. Excellent Christopher 5/7/2020 4:44:00 AM
The experience of living in this home, with this family, in North East London’s Waltham Forest for just over three months formed such a pivotal part of the foundation of the strong, deeply memorable, and layered learning experience I had during my sabbatical research sojourn in England. In this home I experienced full senses of independence, a space to be and to relate, and genuine care. I could just be and work, rest and reflect, and engage and learn from the people of this home, in direct and indirect ways.

My bedroom was spacious and inviting. There was more than enough room to accommodate my need to keep on making distinct spaces for my ever-mounting collection of books and different kinds of hard copy documents. It was so important for me to have the shared kitchen space where I could prepare those from-scratch meals, so crucial for my budget and my well- being. I still find myself thinking of – and missing – the family’s favorite pot, a large blue pot in which I cooked good-to-me meals that I sometimes ate while looking out at or seated outside in the backyard, while just letting my mind come-down, figure-out, and take-in.

Fully intertwined with this sense of place and space was the growing experience of being in and part of a household, a world of life. I was living in a world with people who were open to communication and with whom I could communicate. I was offered recommendations and could ask questions related to everyday things – the bus, underground, over-ground, grocery store, post office, and bank. There was space for genuine conversation and interest in what I was working on and in my experiences and perceptions. I was offered suggestions and invitations related to events, places, and institutions that might be of interest to me. My direction to an archive with which I ended up having substantive and fulfilling engagement came through this family. I felt looked out for and watched out for with this family. I experienced such care. I have much gratitude for them.

The more I reflect on this sabbatical research time, the more I realize how glad I am that I ended up journeying to the several archives, institutes, events and activities across London, Cambridge, and Bedforshire which were part of this time, from the grounding of the neighborhood of Waltham Forest, Northeast London, where this home is. In Waltham Forest and Walthamstow (a major part of this neighborhood/borough) as my “home” base, I felt I was in a community with a ranging representation of people with whom I could identify and interact, and from whom I learned, grew, stretched and questioned my own self. It was the place from which I made my way, on my own, quite frequently from early morning to quite late at night, walking and on the bus, underground and over-ground trains. I also frequently worked in the large public library and the smaller community center library in the neighborhood, and read or just took a reprieve by sitting on benches near bus stops, central areas, or in the Walthamstow public market.

I have such gratitude for the opportunity to have lived with this family in their home and in this neighborhood, for this while. It is impossible for me to remember this learning experience and this time in my life, without this family.

GL

Excellent Grace 11/18/2019 3:26:00 PM
1