Home for Rent or House to Share


London N13 4TH United Kingdom

Listing # 97966


Rates From GBP 680 Monthly
Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(4)
Last Updated: Friday, September 11, 2020

Sunny Attic Room with Ensuite in Newly Refurbished Flat

South-facing, double bedroom with ensuite. (Only advertised with SabbaticalHomes.com). Recently refurbished flat with one person living in it. I work freelance, so come and go quite a bit. Happy to share kitchen and the shower in my bathroom, (which is better than the one in the ensuite). Kitchen is main shared area - possible to maintain good hygeine there with a few Coronavirus Aware precautions which we can agree. Attic room has own stairway up to it and contains large built-in cupboard, chest of drawers, desk, easy chair and comfortable new desk chair, (not shown in picture). Small second desk also available, (most guests like this extra one too). Kettle in room and TV optional. Own fridge in shared kitchen. High Speed Wi-Fi. Possible use of garden by agreement. Ten minutes walk to Bowes Park Overground, (very quick to Kings Cross or the City), or twelve minutes walk to Bounds Green Tube Station. But quickest way to Central London is bus (every 2/ 3 minutes) from end of road to Wood Green Tube station (4 stops ). From Tube it's a half hour journey to Euston for UCL or Kings Cross for British Library and 35 minutes to Russel Square for Birkbeck SOAS or LSE.
Shopping: There's a Tesco Metro Supermarket, 3 bread shops, fresh fish shop, two butchers, dry cleaners, numerous grocers shops, post office within five minutes walk. Wood Green High Road is very near with Morrisons, Tesco's and Sainsbury's supermarkets, as well as Wood Green Shopping City, plus numerous restaurants. In the other direction, (one bus stop away), is Palmers Green with a big Morrisons Supermarket, Co-Op, Sainsbury's, WHSmiths; other nice shops and restaurants and lovely Broomfield Park. Alexandra Park is not too far away also, with ice rink, theatre and regular Farmers Market there. There is also a swimming pool in easy striking distance, couple of gyms. Lovely new gym in Palmers Green Library, eight minutes walk, offering lots of classes also. Library can also be pleasant alternative place to work. There's a "zipcar" parked on the street, which one can hire by the hour fairly cheaply, if you want to use a car at any stage. There is also room in my shed for a bike if you want to bring one. Beyond Broomfield Park is Arnos Park - possible to walk for a couple of hours through the two parks. (Been doing that a lot in Lockdown!)

Restaurants and take-away places nearby.

Two multi-screen cinemas nearby

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
0

 
Suited for
1 people
Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, September 16, 2020 onward
Minimum Stay
1 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City London
Postal Code - State or Province N13 4TH
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Bowes Park Wood Green
Closest University UCL SOAS Birkbeck LSE KCL
University nearby Birkbeck SOAS London School of Economics Central St Martins University College London British Library British Museum Imperial College




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 680 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
£170 per week for shorter stays and pro rata for extra days
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Available for Short Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • TV
  • Other: Own fridge in kitchen

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes

Smoke Free
Yes


Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
Contributor
Matched Member
(1) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Jul 31 2015
This member has 4 reviews
About Me
I'm an actress, trained at RADA and Ecole Jacques Lecoq in Paris. Have worked at the National Theatre, Royal Shakespeare Company and many theatres across Britian. I've spent long spells living abroad in Africa, Russia, the Middle East and Vienna and have travelled widely besides. Love theatre, cinema and dance. Swim when I can. I also teach Communication Skills at Barts Hospital in London and do Roleplay for Medical and Psychiatric Exams at many of the teaching hospitals in London and at Addenbrookes in Cambridge. I'm quite sociable but value my privacy. I have often lived in a room in someone else's house, whilst working away, and like to be fairly separate, whilst using shared spaces in a friendly way. Now that I have this new flat I have made the attic room into a space that would suit someone like me. It's fairly self contained and separate with own door to the attic, ensuite, TV available in the room and kettle. I have tried to make sure that it is also fairly quiet and have put in excellent roof insulation because I hate to be cold! Because everything is new in the flat I would prefer a non-smoker. There is a small but charming garden downstairs from the flat, with a summer house it is possible to work in ( has electricity and wi-fi). Happy to offer use of the garden provided I am not wanting to use it myself.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 6 + 2 =


Reviews

This member has 4 reviews
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
I stayed with Amanda for a few months when returning to the UK. The room was pleasant, quiet and very well furnished and Amanda was extremely helpful both in the lead up to and during my stay. The room is in a quiet, pleasant area and well connected to central London through public transport. I'd gladly stay there again in future. Thanks Amanda! Excellent A.J.Drury 8/10/2020 2:53:00 AM
I've lived in many places in London as a researcher at UCL who travels abroad frequently, and this has been without doubt my favorite. Amanda is kind, considerate, and friendly, and the space in the attic is cozy, quiet, and light-filled. I've found it to be a wonderful place to work and commute to central London (takes me about 30-35 minutes to Russell Square Station). The area is a real gem in the city, with so many Cypriot and Polish groceries to get quality breads, pastries, vegetables, fruit, and dairy products. I've made great use of nearby parks, especially Broomfield (15 minute walk) and Grovelands (25 minute walk). There is also an excellent renovated local library and new gym in the same building just up the road in Palmer's Green Center (8 minute walk). Close-by is also Wood Green, a bustling multi-cultural area with lots of shops and transit access, and a little further south in Turnpike Lane/Harringay Green Lanes are some hip coffee shops for reading and writing. I highly recommend Amanda's place for someone looking to live in a part of London that feels like a real neighborhood and in a home that is very comfortable and suitable for an academic. Excellent Lauren 9/6/2017 4:05:00 AM
I loved staying in Amanda's little upstairs room. It's as charming in real life as it looks in the photos - quite small but with enough room for everything - good closet storage space, big windows letting in a lot of light, a nice desk to work at, a reading chair, even a tea corner, and, of course, the ensuite bathroom which was very convenient to have. Everything is quite new, too, so in very good shape. Amanda is lovely to live with - friendly and gregarious, but very solicitous of your needs and respectful of your private space. The neighborhood isn't exactly photogenic, but it has everything you need in terms of grocery, pharmacy, post office, etc, and I found a few cute cafes and stores. It's about a 45 minute commute to the centre of London, which I found worthwhile for the decent price. Excellent Megan Taylor 6/9/2016 2:40:00 PM
I have been living here for 4 months with one more to go and this place is easily the best place I have lived in London over the 6 years I have been coming back and forth. The room is comfortable, sunny, warm, and the street is nice and quiet for those times you want to work at home. Amanda, the landlady, is just a lovely person who makes you feel welcome and comfortable. I highly recommend staying here. Excellent Sheila 12/10/2015 7:43:00 AM
1