Home for Rent or House to Share


Newport NP20 4ND United Kingdom

Listing # 126043


Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Thursday, October 11, 2018

Oakfield flat and Oakfield studio flat

Two fully furnished, self-contained, high-ceilinged, one-bedroom flats are to rent in an atmospheric Victorian villa with arts and crafts features built in 1875. The property is located in a quiet and leafy sub-urban area overlooking Newport and yet close to all amenities. The larger flat, in the side wing of the house, is centrally heated, and has its own staircase, breakfast area, galley kitchen, bed-sitting room and bath/shower room with underfloor heating. Entrance to the flat is via the landlady's kitchen and morning room. Shared facilities include the washing machine in the Victorian dairy room opposite the flat's entrance. The (electrically heated) studio flat is in an adjoining outbuilding, has its own outside entrance, and comprises a bedsitting room with kitchenette und an ensuite shower room with underfloor heating. Both kitchen areas are fully equipped, with a fridge, table-top stove with hobs and oven, and cupboard space. Tenants have access to the large rear garden. Off-street parking is available on the grounds. The property is in ten minutes walking distance to Newport railway station and 15 mins to the city centre, close to the Civic Centre and Royal Gwent hospital and in easy reach of the University of South Wales's Newport campus. Cardiff is a 12 min rail journey and Bristol 30 mins. The landlady has two housecats and therefore looks for a cat lover for the inside tenant. The inside flat is for longer-term rental (at least 1 month); the studio flat can be rented on a shorter-term basis. Both flats accommodate one person each. They are priced differently and both have additional utility costs.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0

 
Suited for
1 people
Property Type
Suite in Private Home

Availability:

Available from Thursday, November 1, 2018 onward
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
The inside flat is for the longer term, the studio flat can be rented for shorter periods
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Newport
Postal Code - State or Province NP20 4ND Wales
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Newport Shrubberies, Civic Centre, Train and Coach Station, City Centre, Royal Gwent Hospital
Closest University University of South Wales (Newport Campus), Cardiff University, Bristol University
University nearby Cardiff University, Cardiff Metropolitan, Bristol University, Bath University, University of the West of England




Rental Price:


GBP  
Rental Fee Comments
Studio flat £325 monthly or £45 per day, inside flat £450 monthly. Additional monthly utility charges: £130 for inside flat, £100 for studio flat if rented per month (included in daily rent). Cleaning services are optional and charged separately.
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
No
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Garden
  • Other: Access to TV, piano & reception rooms negotiable.

Considerations:



Smoke Free
Yes


Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Sep 19 2018
This member has no review
About Me
I am a Professor of English Literature at Cardiff University. My specialist fields are Victorian (esp. fin-de-siècle) literature, (contemporary) neo-Victorianism, the New Woman, women's writing and literary gender and sexuality studies from the Victorian period to the 21st century. German-born, I read English and French at Tuebingen University, spent time as a student in both the UK and France (Paris), and moved to Britain over 30 years ago. Prior to Cardiff, I worked at the Universities of Leeds, Bradford, Manchester Metropolitan, Swansea and Hull, and in the early stages of my career taught Modern Languages and Women's Studies alongside literature. I see myself as a citizen of the world, one of those most disparaged of identities of our contemporary political climate. I love cats and live with my (Sarah Grand inspired) 'heavenly twins' Angelica and Diavolo in a Victorian period house with arts and crafts features and a large garden to which I am hoping to welcome like-minded academics. I have two flats to let, both self-contained, one in the side wing of the house (with its own staircase) and the other a studio flat in an adjoining outbuilding.
https://www.cardiff.ac.uk/people/view/99170-heilmann-ann

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 3 + 4 =


Reviews

This member has no review