Home for Rent or House to Share


Ottawa Ontario Canada

Listing # 108353


Rates From CAD 800 Monthly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Sunday, May 31, 2020

Comfy, bright, new annex to home

Ideal for one person, available from Aug/Sept 2020 for an indefinite period. Annex in back of one-storey home near Little Italy, overlooking quiet yard, with private entrance. 5min walk to buses, incl those replacing OTrain direct to Carleton, 10-15 mins to bus or train to Ottawa U/downtown. 20mins walk to shopping on Wellington St, plus good corner stores nearby. Driveway parking available. Near Dows Lake (skate to Carleton!), Experimental Farm & Arboretum (30min walk across to Carleton, bike trails).
Fully furnished, with linens. Living room with sofa & desk (no tv provided but outlet exists), bedroom with double bed. Bookshelves, two wardrobes. Own large bathroom. Own back entrance. Generous kitchen-dining area shared with owner. Sliding doors shut off annex from kitchen, another door provides complete privacy from rest of house. Direct access to back porch & yard. Large windows, bright and pleasant. Washer, dryer & clotheslines indoors and out. Utilities & internet access included.
A quiet corner close to some lively streets, with friendly neighbours and easygoing landlady who keeps up on cultural events. It's important that we get along but also maintain privacy as we'd be partly sharing the house. For serious enquiries, I can connect you with previous tenants for comments on their experience.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
336 Sq. Feet
Suited for
1 people
Property Type
Suite in Private Home

Availability:

Available from Saturday, August 1, 2020 onward
Minimum Stay
2 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Prefer longer term rental- 1-2 terms or more- but would consider shorter.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Ottawa
Postal Code - State or Province ON
Country Canada
Neighborhood Keywords Civic Hospital area, Kitchissippi, Little Italy, Hintonburg
Closest University Carleton
University nearby U Ottawa, Algonquin College, St Paul U.




Rental Price:

Asked
CAD 800 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
$400 security deposit.
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: Tenant must shovel for winter access to back door!

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
No

Smoke Free
Negotiable
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Sep 27 2016
This member has no review
About Me
I have been a Spanish language instructor at Carleton University (now retired), and taught English at a university in Barcelona for many years. I have spent a large part of my life in Spain, mostly in or near Barcelona, go back when I can and plan to move back there. I have travelled in Europe, especially around Spain, and a bit in other parts of the world. I am interested in cultural events and keep up with what is happening in Ottawa, particularly films, dance, music, and literary events. If you are seriously interested in the rental, I can connect you with previous tenants for their feedback. These past school years, the annex was rented to a visiting Italian instructor, a teacher from Spain, and a Cdn grad student. We lived quite separately but sometimes ate together, and shared info on events we sometimes attended together. We often went grocery shopping together in my car. I'm flexible- the main thing is that we get along and cooperate as needed. I may be away in winter term 2021 and the main house may be rented, or you might have the place to yourself and have to look after a few plants and front entrance shovelling- nothing more.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 13 + 14 =


Reviews

This member has no review