Home for Rent or House to Share

Redfern 2016 Australia

Listing # 122839

Rates From AUD 380 Weekly
Independent Scholar
About Member
Last Updated: Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Light-filled 1880s Redfern terrace house

Mistress/Master bedroom in Victorian terrace house. Your own private balcony that looks onto the street. There is room for you to work at home, in the privacy of your room.

Walking distance to Sydney Uni, UTS and Notre Dame. 8 minutes bike ride to UNSW. 8 mins walk to Redfern station.

A historical gem in the heart of the city, filled with sunlight. Gas cooking and heating, separate living and dining rooms. Great house to entertain in but also a peaceful retreat. Bath. Loads of books and art. Excellent stereo. Smart TV, Netflix and DVD/VCR. Well equipped kitchen.

Lots of different spaces enable independent living. One person can have a BBQ in the backyard while the other is watching TV and neither will hear a thing. A front porch where you can watch the street go by.

North-east facing backyard with barbecue, worm farm, chillis, herbs, orchids, and tall palm trees.

You will be sharing with me, a writer and artist who works at home. I'm often out in the evening but when home like to read or watch TV. Friends visit. I'm a good cook and enjoy the occasional house dinner with my housemates; mutual privacy is also important. I'm an omnivore but try to eat ethically.

I work traditional hours at my desk, sometimes Saturdays too. As my study is at the back of the house I'm an unobtrusive presence. I have a 15 year-old cat who is very relaxed and comes in at night.

Smoking outside is permitted.

Situated a short 8 minute walk from Redfern railway station, the house is a quiet haven a few steps away from the thriving cafe/bar strip of Redfern. 12 minutes walk to UTS, Sydney Uni, Chinatown and Central station, 15 minutes to Centennial Park, Surry Hills and Newtown. Also within walking distance are two supermarkets, a Lebanese and Chinese greengrocer, two newsagents, baker, and loads of funky restaurants.


Number of Bedrooms
Number of Bathrooms
Number of Offices
Surface Size
200 Sq. Meters
Suited for
2 people
Property Type


Available from Wednesday, December 1, 2021 until Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Comments on Dates
Long term rentals prioritised.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Redfern
Postal Code - State or Province 2016 NSW
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords Redfern, Central, Sydney Uni, UTS
Closest University Sydney University, and University of Technology
University nearby University Technology, Sydney. University of New South Wales. Notre Dame University

Rental Price:

AUD 380 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
$380 includes gas, electricity, water, NBN unlimited internet, Netflix, and fortnightly cleaning. For a couple, rent rises to $420. ALL UTILITIES INCLUDED
Rent Negotiable
Utilities Included
Cleaning Services Included


  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term


  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: Gas heating in winter!


Kid Friendly
Small Children Safe
Smoke Free
Pets Welcome
Car Available

Perform Housesitting Duties?:


About Member

Name (Alias)
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since May 11 2018
This member has no review
About Me
I’m a writer, artist and doctoral alumnus. I have published seven books and many essays, articles, reviews and short stories. My books have won and been shortlisted for prizes. I also have extensive experience as a performance artist: my work has toured internationally. The research for my doctorate was of early twentieth century Sydney's criminal milieu, with particular focus on non-heterosexual lives and the trades of sly-grog and prostitution. I'm currently working on a novel drawing on this. In 2021 Giramondo will publish my collection of non-fiction 'Buried not Dead'. In 2019 they published my photoessay 'A Novel Idea'. My novel 'Indelible Ink' was published by Actes-Sud as 'L'Encre Vive'. I have two adjoining rooms in my house that I rent to a single person or couple, 30+ years-old. I work at home and keep traditional hours at my desk, sometimes Saturdays too. As my study is at the back of the house I'm an unobtrusive presence. I have a 15 year-old cat, very chilled, who comes inside at night. This is an LGBTIQ-friendly eco-conscious household with full recycling, including a worm farm in my backyard. I have LOADS of orchids, and some herbs and spices growing too. Links go to my website, my facebook page, and my Instagram. My literary agent is Jane Novak Literary Agency.



This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
Your Email
Message Help
Human? Please answer: 7 + 2 =


This member has no review