Home for Rent or Home Sitting


Musselburgh United Kingdom

Listing # 137291


Rates From GBP 600 Monthly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Sweet, small 2 bdrm terrace house (townhouse) in Musselburgh near Edinburgh, close to QMU and station

This is a 1980s mid-terrace house ("townhouse") in an extremely quiet yet convenient location at the end of a dead-end residential street. It is small-ish (550 square feet, not including garden) but has everything one or two people would need. 10 minutes walk to Queen Margaret University and Musselburgh train station, where it takes 7 minutes to get to Edinburgh city centre. All sorts of shopping less than a mile away. Asking 600 pounds per month (negotiable for the right person and right timeline), looking for a tenant who would prefer to stay for at least 6 months since I will use the house in the summers. Either that, or someone long-term who would be willing to have me use the house when they go away in the summer in exchange for zero rent. Tenant is responsible for utilities, TV license, and council tax, during occupancy. Tenant will also need to set up wifi. I will cover those costs if/when I use the house.

It will be available in late October 2020 - this is negotiable for a later date, but not earlier.

It is being rented furnished. About 550 square feet over 2 floors. It has a modern fitted kitchen and tiled bathroom, living/dining area downstairs, and 2 bedrooms upstairs. There is a lovely private low-maintenance garden to the rear. It's an established neighbourhood with friendly, quiet neighbours and it's very important to me to find a tenant who will be a good neighbour - i.e. no loud parties. Since I consider this my part-time home, it's important to find a good fit who will take care of the place. It's a modest place without the wow factor of professorial family homes on this site, but I think the asking price is fair and reflects that. Current market rent is 780 a month.

It is being managed by Braemore but I am also announcing it on sites likely to be used by postgrad students, academics, or QMU staff, since I am particularly interested in finding a renter whose schedule might take them away from the property during the summer. I am a Scottish academic working in the USA and want to spend some of my summers at home - maybe you're an academic at QMU who wants to spend the summers elsewhere?

The listing with all information (landlord registration number etc.) is with Braemore. They manage the place so if anything comes up, you're taken care of. If you're interested, do drop me a line and tell me a bit about yourself. If we agree it would be a good fit, I'll instruct Braemore to rent to you.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
550 Sq. Feet
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Monday, October 26, 2020 until Wednesday, June 30, 2021
Available from Friday, October 1, 2021 until Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Minimum Stay
4 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
can be flexible for right person
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Musselburgh
Postal Code - State or Province Scotland
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Stoneyhill, QMU, Edinburgh, East Lothian, Musselburgh Station
Closest University Queen Margaret University
University nearby Edinburgh University




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 600 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
willing to reduce a little for 6 month period or longer, for a person who will take good care of it and be nice to the neighbours! Market rent is currently $780, so I reckon this is a fair deal.
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
No
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
No
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Care for Plants
Housesitting Comments
tenants will keep garden in order (low-maintenance, mostly flagstones)

About Member

Name
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Dec 20 2019
This member has no review
About Me
I am Scottish, and I teach at the University of Washington in Seattle, USA. I have a small terraced house in Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, which I plan to use during the summers (timing flexible). I'm hoping to find academic tenants to live in the house during the school year. The house is in a very quiet, established residential area and it's important to me to find a good fit, someone who won't hold loud parties etc. I'm willing to reduce the rent for the right person.
https://frenchitalian.washington.edu/people/louisa-mackenzie

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 12 + 11 =


Reviews

This member has no review