Home for Rent or Home Sitting


Norwich United Kingdom

Listing # 108462


Rates From GBP 100 Weekly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(1)
Last Updated: Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Peaceful retreat with easy-care cat, in beautiful Norfolk, UK

Two-bedroom 1950s property, all on one level, set in a lovely garden in a small village just outside the quirky medieval city of Norwich. Lovingly furnished home, with some quaint or old-fashioned features (the original bath, a wood-burning stove), but all the modern conveniences, too. One of the bedrooms does double-duty as a study, with a nice, wide desk at the east-facing window, overlooking the front garden and hedgerows. The village has a pub, friendly neighbours, and is near a weekday bus route to the UEA campus, John Innes research centre, and Norwich and Norfolk hospital. Use of a car and (ladies) bicycle available by negotiation: campus is a 5-minute drive or 25-minute cycle ride (3 miles), and the city centre is 15-20 minutes by car, or 35 minutes by bike (4-5 miles - easily managed for fit and confident cyclists; route includes small hills and a stretch of country road).

In addition to the two double bedrooms, which are at the front of the house, the property includes a kitchen, bathroom, living room, and conservatory/dining-room. Outside, there is a garage (firewood and bike storage, plus tumble dryer) and a garden shed (mower, gardening equipment, bird feeding supplies). The house is heated by electric heaters (on thermostatic timers) and the wood-burner. It has recently been insulated to very high standard, and has double-glazed windows throughout. The resident cat, Miss Winifred, is a 12-year-old tabby-and-white female, adopted from a shelter at the age of 10; she is a bit wary and shy (especially around men), but warms up with enough food and playtime. Snores like you wouldn't believe - but has a good purr to match it. There are a few houseplants; the garden looks after itself for most of the year - lots of spring bulbs, then perennial plants and various shrubs and trees, including a large Bramley apple.

The kitchen has wooden countertops, a Belfast (or butler's) ceramic sink with swan-neck tap, dishwasher, washing machine, under-counter fridge with freezer compartment, and electric cooker with double oven and ceramic hob. Equipped with kettle, toaster, food processor, stick blender, electric whisk, and various methods of caffeine preparation. The bathroom is simple but sweet: new electric shower over deep bath, electric towel radiator, sink with antique cabinet above, and the loo, with the same cork flooring as the kitchen.

The two bedrooms and hallway have the original wooden floorboards, tasteful, neutral decoration, and ample storage including a large free-standing wardrobe (in the main bedroom) and chests of drawers (in both). The main bedroom has a double-bed, while the guest/study-bedroom has a small (or French/4-foot) double. There is a full-size ironing board and good iron, kept in the main bedroom.

The living room leads onto the conservatory at the back of the house, which is west-facing and overlooks the sandstone patio, apple tree, and enclosed garden with pond - a favourite with newts. The living room and conservatory have laminate wooden flooring and the same neutral decoration as the rest of the house. There is a nearly new, medium-sized sofa in the living room, a comfortable armchair next to the wood burner, and a small TV, which receives all Freeview channels. The conservatory has a dining table and four chairs; this can be extended to accommodate six guests easily. A small airing cupboard in the living room houses the hot water tank (immersion heater), which runs automatically and supplies ample hot water for the property. There is also a hoover and some other household cleaning equipment.

The property has a landline telephone and high-speed (fibre) broadband. I usually ask for a modest contribution from house-sitters towards bills - generally £100/week. No children, please: the cat is not child-friendly.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
80 Sq. Meters
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Monday, April 1, 2019 onward
Minimum Stay
7 day(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Dates are flexible - please feel free to contact me to ask. Minimum one week stay.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Norwich
Postal Code - State or Province England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords In a village 3 miles from UEA campus, 4 miles from Norwich city centre
Closest University University of East Anglia (UEA)
University nearby Norwich University of the Arts, Cambridge University, University of Essex




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 100 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
Flexible, depending on your circumstances, number of people, and length of stay
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Restaurants

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat

Amenities:

  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: Yoga equipment

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
No
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Oct 4 2016
This member has 1 review
About Me
I am a British-American academic, long-time resident in the UK, where I have studied and worked in Oxford, Manchester, Cambridge, and the University of East Anglia, Norwich. My academic interests include ancient Egyptian art, the collecting and display of Egyptian antiquities (and mummies) in museums, and more recently the history of photography and colonial archaeology. My personal interests include yoga, Argentine tango, gardening, cooking, art, and European travel. I am notoriously tidy, clean, and organized - but with a house that is cozy and full of books and rescued objects (and some cat hair), rather than sterile. When I spend longer than a couple of weeks away - for research or, more recently, to study Italian and escape the English climate - I look for like-minded cat-lovers who can make careful use of my home and enjoy all that the university and this beautiful region of England have to offer.
https://www.uea.ac.uk/art-history/people/profile/c-riggs

https://eastanglia.academia.edu/ChristinaRiggs

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 7 + 5 =


Reviews

This member has 1 review
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
Such a lovely stay! Christina’s home is charming and comfortable, with most every need anticipated. Her instructions are thorough and suggestions very helpful. Her cat Miss Winifred is sweet and easy to care for, and the community welcoming. If problems arise, Christina is prompt to reply and handle the issue, always appreciated when one is in a new place. Excellent Lissa 10/1/2018 11:22:00 PM
1