Home for Rent


Impington CB24 9LU United Kingdom

Listing # 89196


Rates From GBP 1400 Monthly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Thursday, May 18, 2017

Victorian Terraced house Cambridge (2/3 bedrooms)

We have a cheerful 2-3 bedroom Victorian terraced house (1 bedroom currently organised as a study) largely decorated with books. Most rooms have wooden floors; the sitting room has an open fire (and there is a large supply of logs), dining room has a piano, the sunny kitchen opens onto the garden. Gas fired central heating and double glazing throughout. All fully equipped; towels, sheets and bedding provided and use of bicycles if required. There is a (very small) wood opposite the house which gives a green leafy feel to the rooms at the front.
The house shares an entrance hall with a separate self contained flat which is lived in by our son: the flat and the house each have a separate (lockable) entrance off the hall. The following amenities are shared with the flat: entrance hall; bicycle storage area off back garden; washing machine and drying area (in garage); microwave and chest freezer (in garage); garden.
The rent includes all bills (except itemised phone calls) including council tax, TV license and broadband.
At the moment we have two cats who range in the house, the flat, the garden and the woods opposite. We have created a direct entrance for them into the flat for when the house is let, but they sometimes fail to cooperate with this strategy.
We have a lovely secluded garden, full of flowering bulbs in spring and with a number of little “rooms”. There is a pond.
The house is located in Impington which is part of a large dual village (Histon and Impington) – about 2.5 miles from central Cambridge. The village is very friendly and has lots of activities and there is an excellent secondary school with an international sixth form along the road (http://www.impington.cambs.sch.uk). There is a small convenience store nearby and the village has pubs, shops, bank, doctor’s surgery, dentist, sportsground. We are 100 yards from the guided busway with frequent buses to the science park, central Cambridge and the station, and C8 bus into Cambridge and to railway station.

We can be slightly flexible about dates







Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
1

 
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Monday, January 1, 2018 until Friday, August 31, 2018
Available from Monday, July 31, 2017 until Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Impington
Postal Code - State or Province CB24 9LU
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Impington, Histon, Cambridge
Closest University Cambridge, Anglia Ruskin
University nearby UCL, Birkbeck, LSHTM, SOAS (all the Bloomsbury colleges in London)




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 1400 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
monthly (includes all bills except itemised phone calls)
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Off Campus

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • TV
  • Garden
  • Other: table tennis table

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Negotiable
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Aug 26 2014
This member has no review
About Me
I am an anthropological demographer and have worked at UCL for over twenty years. Most of my research has been in francophone West Africa (Mali, Senegal, Burkina Faso) and in the late 1980s/early 1990s we lived in rural Mali for 4 years where two of our three sons spent their formative years.My partner used to work for an environmental NGO which worked in various African countries. Having left there he spent the last 7 years supporting students with disabilities at Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge and has recently retired. I have a full year sabbatical from my department as a reward for doing the huge admin role of being in charge of teaching for 5 years - a challenging task when faced with organising nearly 30 anthropologists! we will spend around 3 months in Montreal where I will be a visitor at the departement de demographie at Universite de Montreal - we also want to experience real winter. In Cambridge we live in a large village just outside the city and I commute 4 days a week to London. We are passionate gardeners and have a well-tended garden (with loads of spring bulbs), and two allotments. We also have a small holiday cottage in Shropshire (near Bishop's Castle and the Long Mynd). If we find someone to do a house swap they will also be able to use the Shropshire house which is great for weekends in the country.
http://www.ucl.ac.uk/anthropology/people/academic_staff/s_randall

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 10 + 5 =


Reviews

This member has no review