Home for Rent


London SW9 0RG United Kingdom

Listing # 104781


Rates From GBP 1595 Monthly
Academic Verified Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(1)
Last Updated: Monday, August 10, 2020

Sunny 1-2 bed, bright, warm Victorian flat

My London flat has been fully refurbished with a new kitchen, bathroom, double-glazed windows, combi-boiler, and hardwood floors. Bright and sunny, it is in a Victorian villa, converted into three apartments, situated on a quiet street near the Oval cricket ground, south of the River Thames. Easy access to all central London.

You will have sole use of the kitchen, bathroom, dining room, double bedroom and sitting room. The flat is fully furnished and equipped. The sitting room has an extra double bed in a curtained nook off the sitting room, a fireplace, chandelier, leather sofa, tv, room for a desk (by arrangement). The sunny dining room is connected to the kitchen. The bathroom has a tub and a Hansgrohe shower, and a Fired Earth marble tiled floor. The kitchen is all electric with microwave, induction hob, oven and dishwasher. New tankless water heater (combination boiler) and gas central heating. Washing machine in the laundry closet in the hallway. Bills (gas, electricity, water, wifi, and council tax) are an additional £150-200 a month. Longer lets might be possible. One flight of stairs from the main front door to the flat.

The flat is on a quiet street in the Van Gogh Walk neighborhood, a conservation area just ten minutes walk from two tube stations (Victoria and Northern lines, Zone 2) and 3 minutes from multiple bus lines and a rank of rentable bicycles. There is secure bicycle parking on the street (by pre-arrangement). It is a ten-minute ride on the tube to Bloomsbury for UCL, Birkbeck, etc, and just a 5 minute ride to Victoria station or Waterloo. We also have night tube service. Kennington Park is nearby, and we have several excellent bars and cafes in the neighborhood (Cable Cafe is a cute coffee shop that serves wine and has live music on Tuesdays, the Fentiman is a pub with good food and a garden, the Van Gogh Cafe is vegan, and the Brown Derby is an independent pub with music some evenings and decent food). There are several supermarkets and local shops on neighboring streets, and a farmers' market on Saturdays. We are between several lively areas for bars and restaurants (Vauxhall, Clapham, Brixton, and the South Bank are all easily accessed). Of course all of central London is within easy reach by bus and tube.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
55 Sq. Meters
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, September 1, 2021 until Friday, December 31, 2021
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Some flexibility with dates.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City London
Postal Code - State or Province SW9 0RG England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Oval Kennington
Closest University Easy access to all major universities in London
University nearby UCLA, LSE, UAL, Kings, etc




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 1595 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Bills extra £150-200 monthly.
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Some
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
No
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
Contributor
Matched Member
(1) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since May 6 2016
This member has 1 review
About Me
I recently retired from James Madison University in Virginia, USA, where I was a department head and full professor. I moved home to England and this is my London residence, bought as a home for my daughter and myself while she attended university. Now she is away in graduate school, I have completely refurbished the flat (new kitchen, bathroom, hardwood floors, double-glazed windows, heating, etc.) and spend more time in my other home in Malta, an island in the Mediterranean. I am a photographer, arts enthusiast, and travel widely.
http://www.psyc.jmu.edu/gradpsyc/people

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 9 + 7 =


Reviews

This member has 1 review
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
The flat was exactly as advertised--very well equipped, great location near bus lines and tube stations, quiet and comfortable. Sheena was responsive to all my requests, met me on arrival, followed up during my one-month visit. Highly recommended. Excellent Howard 8/12/2016 1:46:00 AM
1