Home for Rent


London SE1 3BW United Kingdom

Listing # 110700


Rates From GBP 1800 Monthly
VIP Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(4)
Last Updated: Friday, July 3, 2020

Near Tower Bridge - Entire Floor (70m2/750sq. ft.) in Central London Townhouse

THE ACCOMMODATION
Perfect for a couple or two family members or a single person. (It is not suitable for children under 8 but an older child would be welcome). Please note that although this long-term rental is for a maximum of two people, there is room for up to two guests so you are welcome to have family members and friends to stay. I just need some notice so we can make up beds etc.
You will have the entire 70m2/750 sq. ft top floor (2nd floor, American 3rd) of the house to yourselves, consisting of two bedrooms, a large open plan kitchen/dining/living room and bathroom. It is warm, light and spacious and has been completely refurbished whilst retaining the original period features. (The house dates back to the 1780s.) The new, double-glazed sash windows keep traffic noise and draughts to a minimum.
The rent of £1800 per month is equivalent to about £416 per week and includes all bills (electricity, gas, council tax, water, wifi, TV licence) as well as fortnightly cleaning. Bed linen and towels are provided.
There are two double bedrooms which interconnect with folding doors and can be opened up to make one very large room if desired. The bedrooms can be made up with super-king size double beds or twin beds as required. All the beds have pocket-sprung mattresses which should give you a fantastic night's sleep.
The rear bedroom has a lovely sunny south facing balcony, which is perfect for taking breakfast on or catching the last rays of sun with an early evening drink in summer.
The second bedroom doubles as a study and contains a large desk and plenty of shelves. I can provide an ergonomic, adjustable chair if required.
The bathroom is equipped with a bath and shower. The heated towel rail means that the bathroom is always cosy in winter and that your towels are warm and dry. There is limitless hot water provided by the combi-boiler.
The large open-plan kitchen/dining/living room is well-equipped with dishwasher, fridge, gas/electric cooker, microwave oven, large dining table and chairs as well as a stylish and comfy sofa and 32 inch television.
The central-heating system can be switched on or off as needed. Each radiator has its own control so you can set the temperature of every room individually.
In addition to the above, there is a hair dryer, toaster, kettle, as well as all the usual pots and pans, crockery, utensils, cutlery etc.
You’ll have plenty of space for storing your belongings as there are two wardrobes and several good-sized cupboards and shelves.
There is a washing machine, iron and ironing board in the utility room off the half landing. There is no dryer but there are clothes airers for hanging your washing on.
I live on the lower floors and also let out a room on the first floor so although you are totally independent, I’m on hand if any problems arise and am happy to help with any questions about the local area and London in general.

N.B. Smoking is not permitted anywhere on the property including the balcony, front porch and garden.

THE AREA
Bermondsey is a great place to live and work. Although it is very central, it is not just for tourists. The house is a 15 minute walk from the River Thames and Tower Bridge and 5 minutes from historic Bermondsey Street and its famous coffee shops, restaurants and galleries. The area is renowned for its weekend food markets and Friday morning antiques market. Borough Market, Tate Modern and Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre are also within walking distance.
There are plenty of convenience stores and supermarkets close by which are open 7/7. The park across the road has a circular running track for anyone wanting to stay fit!
GETTING AROUND
Buses stop on the street close to the house every few minutes:
The Number 1 takes you to the West End and its theatres and shops in 20 - 30 minutes. It also runs every 30 minutes throughout the night.
The 78 goes to super-trendy Shoreditch and London's main business quarter, the City, via Tower Bridge (10 minutes) and Liverpool Street station (20 minutes).
Bermondsey station is on the Jubilee line and is a 10 minute walk from the house meaning you can reach most parts of central London in 30 - 40 minutes.
Here are some examples of travel times to various campuses and institutions on foot, by bus or Underground:
15 – 20 minutes: Guy’s Hospital (King's College), London College of Communication (University of the Arts London), South Bank University
20 - 25 minutes: King’s College, Courtauld Institute, London School of Economics, UCL School of Management - Canary Wharf, Cass Business School
30 – 40 minutes: School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University College (UCL), Birkbeck, Goldsmith’s College, British Library, British Museum


Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
750 Sq. Feet
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
Suite in Private Home

Availability:

Available from Thursday, July 15, 2021 onward
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
90 + days minimum
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City London
Postal Code - State or Province SE1 3BW England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Bermondsey, Tower Bridge, Southwark, London Bridge, Central
Closest University King's College, Guy’s, LSE, University of the Arts London (LCC), South Bank University
University nearby London School of Economics, Courtauld Institute, University of the Arts London (UAL) and most Central London university/college campuses




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 1800 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Rent is per calendar month. Part months will be calculated on a pro rata basis. A security deposit of one month's rent is payable.
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Some

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Historical Home

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
Inner Circle Inner Circle: Long-term members and contributors to SabbaticalHomes.com
Contributor
Matched Member
(3) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Jan 5 2017
This member has 4 reviews
About Me
My background is in Fine Art and I trained at Goldsmith’s College, University of London which I followed up with a Masters and Post-Diploma in Nimes and Marseille, France. I held various residencies and teaching positions in art institutions before changing track to manage large-scale corporate training programmes in the UK, Europe and Middle-East. I’m currently working on my own projects and I’m lucky to have a large and beautiful old house in Central London where I’m based. My family spend most of their time abroad so I’m letting out the top floor apartment and first floor studio on Sabbatical Homes. As well as Sabbatical Homes, I'm an Airbnb superhost and you can read my reviews on my profile.
https://www.airbnb.co.uk/users/show/4288805

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 2 + 13 =
This member has 1 other listing
Listing No.TitleTypeView

Rental

#130025
Bright and Spacious Studio (40m2) in Central London Townhouse - Near Tower BridgeOffered View
1

Reviews

This member has 4 reviews
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
We loved this wonderful, good-sized 2-bedroom flat. We stayed from January to March (a sabbatical cut short by the pandemic), and we found it convenient, perfectly clean, and very well appointed. Buses 1 and 78 stop right outside the apartment, and there are parks and grocery stores very close. The little balcony, printer, shared laundry, and strong wifi were all wonderful touches. Sarah lives in the building, and she is a delightful and attentive landlady. We hope we can return one day! Excellent Shannon Murray 4/30/2020 9:09:00 AM
I stayed in this top floor flat in Sarah's house for a little more than six months, from late June to early January, 2020. The flat could not have been more perfect for my needs. The #1 bus has a stop right outside the front door of the home, which I could then take either to Waterloo train station or up to Holborn where I'd get off to work at the Senate House Library. The Bermondsey tube station is also only a 10-12 minute walk away. In short, the flat is in a great location, and Bermondsey itself has a lot going for it. It has a quiet, neighborhood feel, but the Maltby street market and Bermondsey street have a lot of wonderful shops and restaurants. The flat is also only a 15-20 minute walk to the Shard and Borough market. As for the flat itself, it was very comfortable, clean, and quiet, and if ever there was an issue Sarah would deal with it immediately. I highly recommend this flat to anyone looking to stay in central London. Unsurprisingly, Sarah does not have much difficulty finding tenants to stay in this flat. Excellent Jeff 1/10/2020 7:07:00 AM
I loved my stay in Sarah's beautiful house. The loft is impeccable, very spacious and bright, with a very nice bathroom. The bed is quite big and comfortable, and the table at the window is a nice place to work. The stop for the bus which goes to Waterloo/Holborn/Tottenham Court Road is right in front of the house, which is very convenient, especially when coming home in the evening. Also the neighbourhood is very nice and Bermondsey Street with many restaurants and shops is close by. Sarah is a wonderful host. My strongest recommendation! Excellent Maren Elfert 1/8/2020 11:42:00 AM
My partner and I lived in Sarah’s top floor apartment for a year. From the moment we arrived Sarah was a welcoming host, she was always available to sort out any minor query we had and by the end of our stay was more a friend than a landlord!

The apartment is in a fantastic location, Bermondsey tube station is a short walk and there is a bus station outside the front door. Bermondsey Street is just down the road and is full of amazing cafes, pubs and restaurants.

With two large bedrooms (one includes a little balcony), kitchen, bathroom and living room the apartment is spacious and fully equipped - perfect for a couple.

Overall we loved living in Sarah’s apartment and had we decided to stay in London longer would have extended our stay without hesitation. Highly recommend staying here.

Excellent Catherine 10/28/2018 3:07:00 AM
1