House to Share

Berkeley California 94710 United States of America

Listing # 141074

Rates From USD 1350 Monthly
Independent Scholar
About Member
Last Updated: Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Office/study, bedroom and private bathroom with shared kitchen

Light, airy, clean two furnished rooms (study and bedroom), + private bathroom, shared kitchen; $1350/month, preferably one person. Available now. Semi private entrance. Low key, secure, calm environment. Suit case ready.

Share top floor with sculptor/educator/fulbright scholar, including living room and kitchen common areas, in her remodeled 1892 Victorian. Clean sunny well equipped shared kitchen is big enough to follow Covid safety guidelines for the initial period. Sorry, no cooking in the office or bedroom. The first floor is shared by art studio and living quarters for another teacher.

Wild back garden has vegetables, apple and plum trees, and opportunity for some gardening if interested.

House is located in the industrial “live/work” area of West Berkeley. It is on a commercial street. Walking distance to University Ave. and Dwight Way bus lines, the Amtrak train station, Aquatic Park, the Marina and Fourth Street shopping. 20-minute bike ride to UC Berkeley.

Rooms have fir floors, high ceilings and good light. Front study room is set up as an office; with two large craftsman built Amish style large cabinets, large desk and chair. The back room is set up as bedroom with Amish bureau and side table, with the bathroom between the two rooms (shower only). Both rooms have large closets. Lots of storage space. The entrance to the study is semi-private, near the front door of house.

Washer/dryer, Internet access fiber optic Sonic, and monthly cleaning of rooms are included in the monthly rent.

The house has central heat. If an electric portable heater is used in winter months, a slight increase in utilities will be charged Dec, Jan, Feb, and March.

No off-street or driveway parking, only street parking, which can be crowded during the day. Covered bike parking in garden area behind house.

Maybe perfect for a grad or post student who now has to work at home more, a visiting scholar, or starting engineer, architect, tech, or teacher who needs clean home office? Might consider two people, a couple.

No alcohol, marijuana, or illegal drugs on property. Non-smoking person only. Hopefully someone who enjoys birds? Vinnie the canary and two parakeets live near kitchen.

Month to month agreement.

-Furnished office, bedroom and bathroom
-Move in costs: First and Last month's rent + $300 cleaning deposit
-Month to month rental
-Application, credit check and three current references requested.
-Rental for one person preferred, could discuss couples or shared.
-Rent: $1350 per month including utilities
-Available now
-Possible shared wood shop downstairs for additional rent.

-If interested, please email and tell us about yourself, send resume. We can set up an appointment on Zoom for initial interview.


Number of Bedrooms
Number of Bathrooms
Number of Offices
Surface Size
400 Sq. Feet

Property Type


Available from Wednesday, September 9, 2020 until Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Minimum Stay
1 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Comments on Dates
month to month rental, long term negotiable. Shortest time two months
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Berkeley
Postal Code - State or Province 94710 CA
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords Fourth Street, University Avenue
Closest University uc berkeley
University nearby

Rental Price:

USD 1350 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Rent includes utilities
Rent Negotiable
Utilities Included
Cleaning Services Included


  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Architectural Gem
  • Available for Short Term
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term


  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Stairs
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:


Kid Friendly
Small Children Safe
Smoke Free
Pets Welcome
Car Available

Perform Housesitting Duties?:


About Member

Name (Alias)
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Jun 27 2020
This member has no review
About Me
Fulbright Scholar to Ireland 2009-10 BFA and MFA from California College of Arts Year living in Michoacan, Mexico Work on large scale sculptural public art projects

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
Your Email
Message Help
Human? Please answer: 2 + 5 =


This member has no review