House to Share


London N7 6FR United Kingdom

Listing # 143797


Rates From GBP 380 Weekly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Quiet Art Historian's Flat in Islington, 25 min to Bloomsbury

Double bedroom in design-minded 1000sqft/100sqm flat in central London (Zone 2) opening onto private courtyard. With professional thirtysomething couple (of which one is academic), unlimited wifi, Nespresso, Sonos, and balcony with eating area and small garden. Fantastic connections: Victoria & Piccadilly night tube are 10 minutes by foot, and six buses stop outside the door. 15 minutes to the heart of London, King's Cross & Oxford Circus. Great area with traditional pubs, nice coffee shops, large groceries (Waitrose, Morrison's, Lidl) and international grocers, vegetable market, many restaurants, and parks. LGBTQI+ friendly.

THE ROOM
The bed can be single or double, as pictured. New mattress, medium firm. Hairdryer, bedding, towels, iron and ironing board provided. The room has a wardrobe/mirror, endless bookshelves, desk, desk chair, cozy chair, Samsung LED TV with Chromecast for Netflix etc, and a Sonos speaker that can double as a music alarm. The ceiling fan keeps air fresh and circulating without a window.

THE FLAT
The flat is shared with an academic (me), a professional (my partner) and two sleepy, friendly cats. You'd have access to a shared kitchen (dishwasher, washing machine, Nespresso machine) with your own dishes and cookware, huge shared bathroom, cozy living room with Sonos and turntable, balcony overlooking a private courtyard with a lovely garden, and cookie jar normally full of homemade treats. The flat is very safe: there is no street access, and there is a security video-phone both at the exterior door and an interior door.

TRANSPORT LINKS
The transport connections are amazing. There are 7 buses (+ 3 night buses) directly outside the door, and 3 tube stations within a 10-mintute walk (Victoria and Piccadilly lines + night tubes). King's Cross is five minutes by train or 10 minutes by tube.

THE AREA
The flat is quiet because it opens onto a private courtyard, but it's surrounded by loads of local amenities. Within 5 minutes by foot, you can choose from three large supermarkets, three drugstores/pharmacies, and loads of local bakeries, fruiterers, green grocers and coffee shops. The neighbourhood is busy and safe, with easy access to effectively anywhere in London. You'll see why we adore this area. If you're staying for a month or longer, you may enjoy using the two no-contract gyms just a 10-minute walk away.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
1000 Sq. Feet
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, September 15, 2021 onward
Minimum Stay
3 day(s)
Flexible With Dates
No

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City London
Postal Code - State or Province N7 6FR England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords Islington, London
Closest University British Library, British Museum, Wellcome, University College London
University nearby University of the Arts, Courtauld, Warburg, IHR, Senate House, SOAS, Paul Mellon, London School of Economics &c. 50-minute direct train to Cambridge




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 380 Weekly

Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Security System or Doorman
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
No
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Apr 5 2021
This member has no review
About Me
I'm an art historian, a senior lecturer at the University of London. I've studied, held fellowships, and worked in the US, France, Germany, Denmark, and UK, so I understand what academics need in a temporary home. I love art, of course, so I'm full of excitement about exhibitions around London. I'm a lifelong vegetarian, so I can also share ideas about the incredible range of food in the area. Je parle français / ich spreche Deutsch.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 4 + 5 =


Reviews

This member has no review