House to Share


Marrickville 2204 Australia

Listing # 135392


Rates From AUD 350 Weekly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Great Inner Sydney Room in an artist's home for artists/academics.


NB DUE TO THE PANDEMIC THESE DATES COULD CHANGE ACCORDING TO QUARANTINE RULES, BORDER RESTRICTIONS, ETC. HAPPY TO DISCUSS DATES FORM JUNE TILL THE END OF THE YEAR.


I am offering a room in a house, for a single female academic/artist.

I have a home in a quiet street in Marrickville, Sydney's Inner West, surrounded by great restaurants, Asian groceries, three historic churches, and the newly opened Marrickville Library 5 min walk from my home :-
Check out this link below : Its a great place to write, have a coffee, do research if you wish.

https://www.innerwest.nsw.gov.au/explore/libraries/new-marrickville-library

Public transport of buses and train are all easily accessible. Its approximately a 7 min walk to main Marrickville Road where a 426 bus will take you straight into the city or anywhere in the Inner West.

There is also a bus (412) that is 1 min from my home that takes you to the city via Sydney University, Broadway Shopping Centre, Central Station and the CBD. I often take this if I have caught a train from the airport and want to be dropped to my doorstep!

Marrickville Station is a 10 min walk from here. Marrickville has a great lifestyle, if you're into yoga, there are several studios around, a pool 5 minutes away on the bus, and 10 minutes takes you to the equally interesting Enmore and Newtown shops and cafes. I prefer taking the bus as I can then jump off and on when I wish, and only take the train if I have to travel to the other side of town. The bus also allows you to check out all the interesting shops and other places on the way, that you don't get to see on the train, and want to avoid the busy train crowds.

I am offering a good sized double bedroom with ceiling to floor built in wardrobes, a comfy double bed, bedside table, and a desk. I provide all linen.

My home is where I paint and write, usually in the lounge room area, but I have a great open plan living space with kitchen to share.

The best feature of the home is the outside back patio, where I have made a wonderful outdoor space with a desk and sofa for entertaining or working.

A separate laundry and extra toilet is across from the patio. I have a washing machine but no dryer, as there is plenty of room for hanging washing outdoors.

The home has carpeted bedrooms and wooden floors in the living space, and central heating/cooling. I don't have any pets.

There are windows with blinds throughout the home, and I am enjoying the lovely feeling of spaciousness after living in my last home which was an apartment.

The hallway entrance separates the two bedrooms, which is also great, as it means I don't share a common wall with my guest in the home.

I have unlimited wifi which is essential to my work. I don't have TV, but I do watch movies and series.

Across the home is a park, behind a lovely Greek Church, and the closest cafe is literally 2 minutes away.

This is a great home and easy to share with one other person. I have always shared only with women since it is a shared bathroom, though the extra toilet in the laundry room has been useful.

I'm happy to answer any queries you may have.

I have been hosting academics and artists for many years, and since 2014 via Airbnb and through my art networks.

Most of my stays have been 3 months long but I am prepared to discuss shorter or longer time frames.



My website :
https://rakinidevi.net


Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
202 Sq. Feet
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Monday, June 1, 2020 until Saturday, October 31, 2020
Minimum Stay
1 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
My calendar will change according to who books first as I host artists through different organisatio
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Marrickville
Postal Code - State or Province 2204 NSW
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marrickville,_New_South_Wales
Closest University Sydney University :Direct 20 min bus
University nearby UTS (University of Technology Sydney) & Notre Dame University




Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 350 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
Time frames negotiable.
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: House with garden and patio easily accessible.

Considerations:






Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Graduate or Post-Graduate Student
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Sep 12 2019
This member has no review
About Me
I am a performance and visual artist for over three decades, and a recently awarded Doctor of Creative Arts from the University of Wollongong, NSW. My exegesis and accompanying doctoral presentation is titled "Urban Kali, From Sacred Dance to Secular Performance". My performance career has taken me to many parts of the globe, including receiving two Asialink residencies and other invited overseas residencies in the US, Mexico, Canada, UK, India, Indonesia, Europe and Japan. As an artist usually travelling on a tight budget, I appreciate the small comforts and details that women travellers need when they travel alone, whether it is total privacy, or the simple comforts of a comfy bed and an aesthetically pleasing environment. I try and make my home as welcoming and comfortable as possible, and love meeting other women travellers. Over the past five years I have hosted academics through University colleagues, arts organisations (For example Critical Path, Sydney) and the University Accommodation site (Sydney University) for up to three months at a time, and through arts organisations and companies that need accommodation for visiting artists/academics. Though I also use Airbnb, I prefer to host like-minded women who are here for a specific purpose, and who have the additional advantage of having a background in art/academia. My experience as a host has so far been rewarding and I have had a lot of positive feedback from my guests. I love urban living, and have always lived in the inner city suburbs, surrounded by cafes and great food. Big cities can be very isolating, so I enjoy sharing my home from time to time, and exchange stories with guests. I was an Airbnb "Super Host" at my last location, and hope to renew that title in my new home! I work from home, and may occasionally have to travel interstate or overseas which is when I am unable to host, but most often I am home for long periods. The most rewarding experiences as a host have been meeting and often befriending amazing women travellers from across the globe, as well as many national guests. In the current trend of technology-obsessed society, I value human connections that can greatly enrich your travels in the world. My website is being updated, so for now I can provide my social media links.
https://www.realtime.org.au/the-goddess-the-doctorate-rakini-devis-urban-kali/

https://www.facebook.com/Rakini-Devi-Performance-151637274897826/

https://vimeo.com/120928241

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 9 + 5 =


Reviews

This member has no review