Looking to Sit


Wanted in United Kingdom

Listing #141540

1-6 month quiet, studious house sit by a diligent and conscientious post-graduate researcher.

I'm about to start my final year of my PhD, but I'm looking to take a 6 month break so I can focus on some foundational coursework so that I can pivot into an area that I am currently unfamiliar with. I'm from South Africa originally, I have grown up with pets my whole life (even looked after a (baby) cheetah!), and I love nature and the outdoors. I'm an engineer by trade, so fixing things is second nature to me. I would love to find a house sit where in exchange for lodging I would look after the house, pets, and/or garden. I'm looking for a nature-filled, quiet, studious 1-6 month house sit, so you can rest assured that I will give your pets and property the love and time they deserve! Looking forward to hearing from you!

Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Pricing
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Saturday, August 1, 2020

Basics:





 

Property Type
Any Type

Availability (Month/Day/Year)

Available from Thursday, October 1, 2020 onward
Flexible With Dates
Yes

Sabbatical Destination:

*Approximate location of destination is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City
Stirling

State or Province
Scotland
Country
United Kingdom
Closest University
University of Stirling
Universities Nearby
University of Glasgow, University of Edinburgh, University of St. Andrews

Rental Price:





Rent Open To Offer
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Info:

  • Furnished
  • On Campus
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Unfurnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • SemiFurnished
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Gym
  • Baby Furniture

Considerations:






Perform housesitting duties?

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
  • Forward our Mail

About Member:

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Graduate or Post-Graduate Student
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of Made-a-Match Fees
Member Since Aug 1 2020
This member has no review
About
Hi, I'm Logan, and I'm currently a PhD student at the University of Leeds, UK. I am about to embark on my 3rd and final year of study, but would like to take a 6 month break so I can focus on some foundational coursework so I can pivot my PhD into an area of the field I would like it to go. My field is artificial intelligence, and I am currently specialising in a branch of reinforcement learning which I would like to combine with the field of causality, but I don't currently have the mathematical and statistical tools to make that dream come true. I am hoping to find a house sit where I would be able to look after pets/garden/house in exchange for lodging. I'm a conscientious and diligent worker, I've had pets growing up my whole life (including looking after a cheetah (I'm from South Africa)), and I would love to be close to nature for walks and runs, especially if I were to be looking after dogs. I have house sat for many family and friends and would be willing to provide references if required. I'd also be happy to meet on Skype so that you could get a feel for who I am as a person. I did my undergraduate in mechatronic engineering and my masters in electrical, and my parents always took an engineering degree to mean "able to fix anything around the house", so I am well versed in fixing electrics, geysers, less so in plumbing issues but I'm pretty sure I could figure it out if something were to come up. I am somewhat of a perfectionist by nature, so you can be assured that you will receive your house back in as good if not better condition than when you left it. I love fixing things and solving problems, so you should feel at ease with me looking after your beloved pets and/or property. I hope to make your acquaintance soon!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/logandunbar/

https://eps.leeds.ac.uk/computing/pgr/2831/logan-dunbar

This member has no review