Looking to Rent or Sit


Wanted in California United States of America

Listing #136269

Seeking house to sit or rent in the East Bay, June or July to about Feb. 2021

Hello,

My husband, Mike, and I will be having our house remodeled this summer, fall, and next winter; we need to move out of our home during this time, and are looking for a real from July of 2020 through about February of 2021.

We are looking for a house to sit or rent from June or July, 2020 through about February of 2021. We are long-time homeowners and gardeners. Mike is a handy man, and could make small repairs. We would care for your home as though it was our own.

Here is an introduction to our family:

Mike has a Master’s in Geography from Cal, and works as a systems administrator in San Mateo. Mike loves to hike, ride bikes, camp, and backpack. A few years ago a dream came true for Mike when when he hiked 220 miles on the John Muir Trail. Mike is not only my beloved husband, but also my own IT guy; without him, I would be coordinating the Tour with a pencil and paper.

Kathy coordinates the Bringing Back the Natives Garden Tour (https://www.bringingbackthenatives.net). She is also the primary homeschooling parent for our daughter, and she homeschooled our son when he was young. Kathy's hobbies are reading non-fiction (history and biographies), traveling, and gardening.

Kelly recently turned eleven, is homeschooled, and has a largish group of homeschooling friends. At the moment she is taking a Civil War History class, Writer’s Workshop, and gym. She is in a book Club, and we also go to a weekly Park Day, where homeschooled kids play in various parks. Kelly is passionate about horses, and loves spending time mucking out stalls and riding horses at a stable in El Sobrante.

We do have a small dog, Stanley, who we would like to have with us, but if Stanley was a dealbreaker we would see if a friend would take him while our house is under construction.

We also have a 20 year old son, Peter, who will graduate from UC Santa Cruz in June. He hopes to go to New Zealand and Australia after graduating from college and expects to remain there for about a year, so while he would be around for a short period of time at the beginning of summer we believe he would be away after that.

Mike, Peter, and I do not drink or smoke; we live pretty quietly.

Our family of three could manage in a one-bedroom; it would be close living, but as it is just temporary it would work for us.

We would be happy to meet with you, and to provide references.

Warmly,

Kathy Kramer and Mike May

Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Pricing
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
1 3
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0 1
Minimum space you require
700 Sq. Feet
Accommodations suited for
3 people
Property Type
Any Type

Availability (Month/Day/Year)

Available from Monday, June 1, 2020 until Sunday, February 28, 2021
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Partial dates between June 2020- Feb 2021 would work, + w/in 10 miles of Berkeley

Sabbatical Destination:

*Approximate location of destination is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City
Berkeley

State or Province
CA
Country
United States of America
Closest University
U.C. Berkeley

Neighborhood Keywords
El Cerrito, Albany, Berkeley, Kensington

Rental Price:

Minimum Rent Fee
0


Monthly

Rent Open To Offer
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Info:

  • Furnished
  • On Campus
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Unfurnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • SemiFurnished
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Gym
  • Baby Furniture

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes

Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
No

Perform housesitting duties?

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
  • Forward our Mail

About Member:

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
Contributor Contributor
(1) Number of Made-a-Match Fees
Member Since Sep 24 2016
This member has no review
About
Mike studied Environment Science as a undergraduate and Physical Geography as a graduate student at UC Berkeley, and currently runs his own computer consulting business. Kathy graduated from Cal State Long Beach with a Master's in Marine Biology and runs a garden tour in the San Francisco East Bay. Kathy has travelled extensively and lived overseas for six years, mostly th Caribbean, New Zealand and Australia. Mike is catching up on overseas travel. Closer to home, he has completed a 226 mile hike on the John Muir Trail in the Sierra Nevada.
http://bringingbackthenatives.net

http://maytc.com

This member has no review