Looking to Rent or Sit


Wanted in California United States of America

Listing #137358

Looking for home close to UCSB for new professor and partner

Myself (Audrey Bosquet) and my partner (Geoff Tsai) are looking for a house / apartment / cottage to call home for a few months or more while we get settled in Santa Barbara as Geoff starts his new position in Mechanical Engineering at UCSB.

We are moving from Cambridge (Massachusetts), where we've been studying and teaching at MIT, also in Mechanical Engineering. Geoff has a PhD in MechE, while I am completing a Masters.

We are experienced renters and have been living together for the last 2.5 years; we consider ourselves very clean and neat. We have our own furnishings, so if possible we would be interested in an unfurnished space. We both enjoy cooking and baking, so we appreciate a large kitchen. We are both non-smoking, and are not the partying types, though we do like to have dinners and play games with friends. We'd love to find a place that would consider a cat (as I've wanted one for a long time since growing up with them), but it is not a deal breaker. We're looking for a place to live for 3 - 12 months while we get to know the area and eventually look for a house to buy.

Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Pricing
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Wednesday, December 25, 2019

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
0 1 2 3
Number of Bathrooms
1 2 3
Number of Offices
0 1 2

 
Accommodations suited for
2 people
Property Type
Any Type

Availability (Month/Day/Year)

Available from Saturday, February 15, 2020 onward
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
While we need to move before March 1, we are flexible on move in & length of stay (3 months min)

Sabbatical Destination:

*Approximate location of destination is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City
Goleta

State or Province
CA
Country
United States of America
Closest University
University of California, Santa Barbara


Rental Price:


Maximum Rent Fee
2400

Currency
USD
Rent Open To Offer
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Info:

  • Furnished
  • On Campus
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Unfurnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • SemiFurnished
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Gym
  • Baby Furniture

Considerations:



Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable

Perform housesitting duties?

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
  • Forward our Mail

About Member:

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Graduate or Post-Graduate Student
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of Made-a-Match Fees
Member Since Feb 28 2018
This member has no review
About
I am a design minded mechanical engineering grad student at MIT. I did some growing up in France, and some growing up in Washington State before coming out to Cambridge for school. I am finishing up my Master's this spring (partially remotely). My partner (Geoff Tsai) is starting a new job as a professor in Mechanical Engineering at UCSB, and so we are moving to Santa Barbara in February!
audreybosquet.com

This member has no review