Looking to Rent or Sit


Wanted in New York 10024 United States of America

Listing #137997

Seeking room or house to rent or sit 2-3 nights per week in New York, Feb-May, for guest researcher from Brazilian Amazon research institution at American Museum on low budget

I am a guest researcher in anthropology at the American Museum of Natural History in New York, on a very low budget with my severely devalued Brazilian salary from the Goeldi Museum in Belem. I will be in New York February through the end of May. I am staying with a college friend in Princeton, but to ease the long commute am looking for a room to rent or ideally sit 2-3 nights per week .

Academic Pending
General
Availability
Location
Pricing
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Sunday, January 26, 2020

Basics:





 
Accommodations suited for
1 people
Property Type
Any Type

Availability (Month/Day/Year)

Available from Saturday, February 1, 2020 until Sunday, May 31, 2020
Flexible With Dates
No

Sabbatical Destination:

*Approximate location of destination is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City
New York
Postal Code
10024
State or Province
NY
Country
United States of America
Closest University
Columbia University

Neighborhood Keywords
Anywhere on Manhattan, Brooklyn, Bronx, Queens that will be a closer commute than Princeton

Rental Price:

Minimum Rent Fee
0
Maximum Rent Fee
300

Monthly
Currency
USD
Rent Open To Offer
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Info:

  • Furnished
  • On Campus
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Unfurnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • SemiFurnished
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Gym
  • Baby Furniture

Considerations:






Perform housesitting duties?

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
  • Forward our Mail

About Member:

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Pending Confirmation Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Pending)
(0) Number of Made-a-Match Fees
Member Since Jan 26 2020
This member has no review
About
I am an anthropologist, ethnobotanist and film maker, and have worked with diverse indigenous peoples of Peru, Brazil, Mexico, Asia and the Middle East, with most of my research focused on traditional medicine, shamanism, and human-nature relations in Amazonia. Raised in the Tidewater area of Virginia, I graduated from Princeton University and did my Ph.D. in medical anthropology at the University of California at Berkeley. I have learned a number of languages throughout my travels including French, German, Polish, Arabic and indigenous languages including Matsigenka, Yaminahua, Tzeltal and Tzotzil Maya, and others. I have lived in Brazil for 20 years, and currently work at the Goeldi Museum in Belem. I am on a temporary visiting position at the American Museum in New York, and am looking for a place to stay in New York 2-3 nights a week to ease the long commute from Princeton, where I am staying with a college friend.
http://ethnoground.blogspot.com

@TweetTropiques

This member has no review