Looking to Rent or Sit


Wanted in United Kingdom

Listing #136714

Landscape designer/garden-tour operator and artist/photographer seeking Cambridge, UK (or Oxford) rental for August 1 through early September 2021

International garden tour company owner/former landscape designer/travel book author (Paul) and artist/photographer(Suzanne), Berkeley graduates, former London residents, anglophiles, active early 70's, seeking two-bedroom or larger house rental in or near Cambridge, August 1 till early September, 2021. Would also consider a home in or near Oxford for that same time period. Excellent references both sides of the Pond.
Great Britain has played a major role in both our lives, starting in Berkeley in the '60's where we both studied English Lit, through our years living and working in London in the early '70's, writing/reading poetry and traveling the length and breadth of the country. In the early '80's I started Coopersmith's England, bringing small groups of horticulturally-inclined Americans to visit legendary British gardens and stately homes. (The company, now known as Coopersmith's One-of-a-Kind Tours, is in its 37th year.) Later this year we have an opportunity to return to London for four months, where Suzanne and I hope to spend many a happy hour at our favorite gardens, galleries and museums, while hanging out with old friends whom we've known since the '70's. As a sort of stepping stone to London, we'd love to spend a few weeks in either Cambridge or Oxford, neither of us ever having been to either fair city for more than a couple of days at a time. We've done numerous long-term holiday-home rentals, in the US, UK, and New Zealand. We are quiet, respectful people, who will look after your home as if it were our own (which is what we are doing as I write, in the hamlet of Gualala, along Northern California's spectacular. Mendocino County coast.)

General
Availability
Location
Pricing
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Sunday, March 28, 2021

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2 3 4
Number of Bathrooms
1 2 3
Number of Offices
1 2
Minimum space you require
1200 Sq. Feet
Accommodations suited for
2 people
Property Type
House

Availability (Month/Day/Year)

Available from Sunday, August 1, 2021 until Tuesday, September 7, 2021
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
We are very flexible with the end date

Sabbatical Destination:

*Approximate location of destination is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City
Oxford

State or Province
England
Country
United Kingdom
Closest University
University of Oxford


Rental Price:




Currency
GBP
Rent Open To Offer
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Info:

  • Furnished
  • On Campus
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Unfurnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • SemiFurnished
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Gym
  • Baby Furniture

Considerations:



Smoke Free
Yes

Car Available
Negotiable

Perform housesitting duties?

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
  • Forward our Mail

About Member:

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Number of Made-a-Match Fees
Member Since Sep 7 2013
This member has no review
About
Paul, born and raised in New Jersey, is the owner and founder of Coopersmith's One-of-a-Kind tours, North America's oldest international garden tour company. He has a BA from Berkeley (1968), and is the author of "Rule of Thumb: A Hitchhiker's Handbook to Europe & North Africa (Simon & Schuster, 1973). Suzanne, born and raised in Los Angeles, also graduated from UC Berkeley in 1968. Formerly a photo-journalistic-style wedding photographer, she made the transition to painting around 12 years ago. Making our home in Inverness, in rural West Marin Country, an hour north of San Francisco. we travel overseas nearly every year, usually to England/Italy/France or New Zealand.
www.coopersmiths.com

www.suzannekparker.com
This party has 1 other listing
Listing No.TitleTypeView

Rental
Sit

#136639
Longtime Marin (Calif) Couple Seeking August 2021-January 2022 Rental in Marin, Napa, Mendocino, or SonomaWanted View
1
This member has no review