Looking to Rent

Wanted in Ontario Canada

Listing #118363

Downtown homey furnished or semi-furnished 1 or 2-bedrm apartment or house sought

I'm a professional poet, creative writer and creative writing instructor. As of this summer 2021, I'm looking for a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment or house, ideally with a separate office/study space in addition to 1 bedroom and living room, but I am flexible to many layout possibilities. I am interested in having quiet space to work and create, as well as some form of access to out of door space (preferably including some garden area, but even a balcony). Currently since August 2019 I am renting a two-bedroom condo in Toronto's Kensington Market, while working on grant-funded writing projects and teaching at Ryerson and with the MFA in CW at University of Guelph-Humber. During his times in Toronto, my university-going son stays with me. I have two other adult children who live in Toronto. I will be interested again in possibilities here for the end of summer 2021 onward. I would most like to be located in the area of Toronto I know best, Little Italy/ Little Portugal or surrounding areas (where I have lived for the better part of over 20 years) but I'm also open to considering all areas of the city for the right situation. ideally, I would like to find a situation that could continue into the long term.

Academic Verified
About Member
Last Updated: Sunday, January 10, 2021


Number of Bedrooms
1 2
Number of Bathrooms
Number of Offices
Minimum space you require
750 Sq. Feet
Accommodations suited for
2 people
Property Type
Any Type

Availability (Month/Day/Year)

Available from Wednesday, September 1, 2021 until Thursday, August 31, 2023
Available from Sunday, August 1, 2021 until Saturday, August 31, 2024
Flexible With Dates
Comments on Dates
Could begin 8/1/2021 and continue for shorter or longer term. I would prefer a longer time frame.

Sabbatical Destination:

*Approximate location of destination is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.


State or Province
Closest University
University of Toronto
Universities Nearby
OCADU, Ryerson U
Neighborhood Keywords
Little Italy, Little Portugal, Kensington, Bloordale, Annex, Trinity-Bellwoods, Leslieville

Rental Price:

Minimum Rent Fee
Maximum Rent Fee

Rent Open To Offer


  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Info:

  • Furnished
  • On Campus
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Unfurnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • SemiFurnished
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term


  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Gym
  • Baby Furniture


Smoke Free
Pets Welcome
Car Available

Perform housesitting duties?

  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
  • Forward our Mail

About Member:

Name (Alias)
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of Made-a-Match Fees
Member Since Nov 1 2017
This member has no review
I am a professional poet, writer and creative writing instructor (currently at Ryerson University). I was Canada Council Writer in Residence 2016/2017 at Western University, the same at the University of Alberta in 2017/2018, and Distinguished Visitor at University College, University of Toronto in 2018-2019. I am living in a Sabbatical Homes rental in Kensington Market through to the end of August 2021, and will be seeking a new sublet to begin Sept 2021 -- to continue long term ideally. I will be living by myself with occasional visits /holidays from my son who is at Concordia in the fall/ next year. I have two other young adult children living in Toronto, and it is my preference to stay in Toronto, but I am also open to other locations.



This member has no review