Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap

Minneapolis Minnesota 55407 United States of America

Listing # 140854

Rates From USD 1300 Monthly
Academic Verified Contributor
About Member
Last Updated: Wednesday, December 16, 2020

3 bedroom family home with view over Hiawatha golf course for spring of 2021

We are looking for a family to rent our 3-bedroom home in the Standish/Ericsson neighborhood of Minneapolis for the spring term of 2021. We are a few blocks from lovely Lake Hiawatha, and across the street from a green space, with a pleasant view over the green space and adjacent golf course, where you can cross-country ski in the winter.

Our house has 3 bedrooms on the upper level, a main floor with a living room, dining room, and a large kitchen that connects to our back patio. We have one full bathroom upstairs, and one half-bathroom (a toilet and sink, but no shower) downstairs. We also have an attached garage that can accommodate one car plus plenty of space for storage. (You may not think this is a big deal right now, but trust me, when it's 0F in January with 2 feet of snow on the ground, you will appreciate the attached garage!).

We plan to rent our home furnished. This includes dining room table and chairs, living room sofa and chairs, a coffee table, and a flat-screen TV downstairs. One of the large bedrooms is furnished with a queen bed, side table, and 2 large dressers. The other is currently set up as an office, but also contains a futon that sleeps two, and a large cabinet. The third room is furnished as a child's bedroom, with one small dresser and a single bed. We also have an outdoor dining table and chairs on our patio, which overlooks our lovely fenced back yard. We have two girls aged one and three, and have several baby and little kid items that could be made available to you during your stay -- please ask if you are interested.

We are a 5 minute walk from an express bus route to the University of Minnesota campus and downtown, and about 1 mile from the nearest blue line light rail station. Our neighborhood is also very bike-friendly, and there are many good bike-commuting routes to both the University of Minnesota and to St. Catherines' and St. Thomas' universities in Saint Paul.


Number of Bedrooms
Number of Bathrooms
Number of Offices
Surface Size
1490 Sq. Feet
Suited for
4 people
Property Type


Available from Sunday, January 10, 2021 until Friday, June 18, 2021
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Comments on Dates
Start and end dates can be adjusted by 1-2 weeks; please ask
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Minneapolis
Postal Code - State or Province 55407 MN
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords Standish Ericson
Closest University Saint Catherine's university, University of Minnesota, University of Saint Thomas
University nearby University of Minnesota, University of Saint Thomas

Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Princeton

State or Province
United States of America

Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Saturday, September 5, 2020 until Sunday, June 6, 2021

Rental Price:

USD 1300 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Price includes high-speed internet and water/ sewer/ waste collection. Heating and electrical costs will be added on separately.
Rent Negotiable
Utilities Included
Cleaning Services Included


  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term


  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Baby Furniture
  • Other:


Kid Friendly
Small Children Safe
Smoke Free
Pets Welcome
Car Available

Perform Housesitting Duties?:


About Member

Name (Alias)
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
Matched Member
(1) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Jun 6 2020
This member has no review
About Me
I am a theoretical physicist who has been at the University of Minnesota since fall of 2013. Before that, I lived in Oxford for 4 years, and Princeton for 6, and I grew up and did my undergraduate studies in Vancouver, Canada. Though I do miss the mountains, there is a lot to love about the twin cities. My husband and I now have 2 girls aged 1 and 4, and we love living in a part of the city with tons of beautiful parks and trails for cycling, walking, running, and playing. We are dedicated bike commuters (both winter and summer), and also enjoy that our neighborhood is quite walkable, with multiple coffee shops and restaurants within 1 mile of our home.

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
Your Email
Message Help
Human? Please answer: 12 + 15 =


This member has no review