Educator looking for 2 Month Sabbatical in England

Tenant Searching for a Place in Oxford, England, United Kingdom

Listing #142962


Looking for an Entire Home | Willing to Housesit
Monthly Budget: Minimum GBP £0 | Maximum GBP £1200
Last Updated 61 days ago

About

Hi, My name is Paul Cox and I am an education professor at the University of Virginia's College at Wise in the US. I am very excited about a 2-month sabbatical to research how teachers are trained in England. I am hoping to find a rental home from September 1 to October 31 (2 months). My wife and I are both educators. Valerie is a librarian and I taught math/science. Over the years, I moved from teaching positions to school administration and then to higher education. Currently, I help prepare students to become licensed teachers. Over the past 25 years, Valerie and I have been blessed to work with wonderful people and great kids. A few years ago, Valerie and I visited the UK with our 3 children. I became very interested in how teacher training programs are different/similar to teacher training programs in the US. I am hopeful to learn as much as I can about teacher training in England. A wish list:) I really need to be within a 20 min walk to a train station and within a 1-hour train ride to London/Oxford where I will need to travel each week. I am not confident enough to rent a car. My university is giving me $1500 or 1100 GBP per month. I suspect I will need to increase this budget but right now, that's what the university has offered, My family would like to visit with me over the 2 months at times when they are able to take leave from jobs and school. This would mean on some weeks I would be the only one in the rental and other weeks I would have family staying with me. Min of 2 bedrooms 2 baths. I would really like a home/cottage village-type setting where I could walk to shops, pubs, and parks. Thanks so much for reading my post and take care. Paul

Bedrooms
1

Bathrooms
1

Offices
0

Size
1 ft2

Suited For
4

Property Type
House, Apartment or Condo, Studio or Loft, Guest House

Tenant Timing

From September 1, 2021 until October 31, 2021

Estimated Duration

1 Day | My dates are flexible

Desired Location

Oxford, England, United Kingdom

Comments: Rochester, St. Albans, Guildford, Winchester, Oxford, Banbury, Marlow

Surroundings

  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transportation

Tenant Budget and Terms

Minimum GBP £0 - Maximum GBP £1200 Monthly

I do not need to have utilities included

Considerations

I prefer smoking allowed in the home

House Sitting

I am willing to housesit

Features

Interior

Furnished

Connectivity

High Speed Internet

Tenant Details

Who's Coming?

Party of
4
4 Adults

Member Background

Languages

English

About Me

I began my teaching career as a middle school math and science teacher. I moved to a position as an elementary principal and then on to teaching at the undergraduate level. I love helping students transform into teachers and I am always looking for better way to prepare future teachers. I have some travel experience and hope my future travels can help create new study abroad opportunities for my students.

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.