Jacqueline  Shea Murphy user icon

Jacqueline Shea Murphy

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (32)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Matched Member

UC Professor looking for 3 bedroom house in Oakland/Berkeley

Tenant Searching for a Place in Piedmont, California, United States

Listing #143069


Looking for an Entire Home | Willing to Housesit
Monthly Budget: Minimum USD $2000 | Maximum USD $3500
Last Updated 106 days ago

About

I am a UC professor looking for a house to rent long term. My spouse and I are separating and have been 'nesting' -- our 3 kids stay in the house (in North Oakland) while we switch back and forth between an apartment in Berkeley-- but would like to move to two fully separate households sometime soon. I thought I'd see if anyone out there is planning a sabbatical or other long-time absence from a home in the region, and looking for a responsible, mature, thoughtful and caring academic tenant. Kids are 13, 13 (twins) and 18 (will be mostly away at college), and they would be with me half time. I am a Dance studies professor at UCR (yes have been commuting that distance...but will be on sabbatical most of next year), longtime Iyengar yoga practitioner, avid gardener (happy to tend plants), skilled vegetarian cook of healthy locally sourced food, pet lover (including experience with elderly/sick pets in need of pills/injections) (we don't have a cat at the moment, but my twins would love one!), quiet, looking for beauty and respite. I have many local references. Thanks for reading. Ideal dates would be starting in July, 2021 but flexible.

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
2

Offices
0

Size
1 ft2

Suited For
4

Property Type
House

Tenant Timing

From July 1, 2021 until January 24, 2021

Estimated Duration

1 Day | My dates are flexible

Comments: longer term also possible

Desired Location

Piedmont, California, United States

Comments: PIedmone Ave, Rockridge, Lake Merritt, Berkeley, Maxwell Park, etc.

Surroundings

Tenant Budget and Terms

Minimum USD $2000 - Maximum USD $3500 Monthly

I do not need to have utilities included

Considerations

I prefer a home suitable for young kids

I am bringing my pet

I prefer smoking allowed in the home

House Sitting

I am willing to housesit

Yes, I can help with pets

Yes, I can help with mail and deliveries

Yes, I can help with plants or garden

Features

Interior

Furnished

Semi Furnished

Unfurnished

Connectivity

High Speed Internet

Exterior

Garden

Tenant Details

Who's Coming?

Party of
4
4 Adults

Member Background

Languages

English

About Me

I am an Associate Professor of Critical Dance Studies at the University of California, Riverside. I live in Oakland and have been commuting for many years. My spouse and I are separated, and nesting -- but soon would like to move to two separate living spaces -- so I am looking for a 3 bedroom house that could accommodate me all the time, and my kids (3, though one will mostly be away at college, ages 13, 13 (twins) and 18) half the time. North Oakland ideal but flexible. Dates also flexible -- long term, starting in July, would be ideal, but flexible. I am also an Iyengar yoga longtime practitioner and certified teacher. Before our separation, our family twice rented our house on Sabbatical homes while we lived abroad, in Berlin for a year, and for 6 months on a Fulbright in New Zealand. We have had positive house-sharing/renting experiences then.

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.

Jacqueline  Shea Murphy user icon

Jacqueline Shea Murphy

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (32)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Matched Member