PhD candidate looking for a one-bedroom or studio in Paris

Tenant Searching for a Place in Paris, Île-de-France, France

Listing #146257


Looking for Private Space or Entire Home | Open to House Sitting
Monthly Budget: Minimum EUR €850 | Maximum EUR €1200
Last Updated 11 days ago

About

My name is Paige and I'm a PhD candidate in the history department at the University of Pennsylvania. Before that, I studied at the University of Chicago. I will be in Paris for most of the upcoming academic year for my dissertation research and will be affiliated with the Centre de Sociologie des Organisations at SciencesPo during my stay. I've travelled to Paris frequently for my research and I'm delighted to return for a longer stay (especially after my research trip was delayed by a year!). Some of my research plans are up in the air and I'm unsure how many months I'll need to be in Paris. I would happily commit to a six-month lease from September 2020 to March 2021. I would also be open to offers for the months of September and October. My partner (also a PhD candidate in history) will be with me during that time until he began his own research and will visit me occasionally throughout my stay. I've spent a lot of time in Paris and I love the 10th, 11th, 18th, and 20th arrondissements but I am absolutely open to living elsewhere as long as it is within a 10 minute walk of a metro or bus stop. I will consider studios but would prefer a one-bedroom and an actual bed rather than a sofa bed or futon. Depending on the size, I would consider living in a private room in a shared apartment. I would be very happy to provide references from former landlords and flatmates.

Bedrooms
1

Bathrooms
1

Offices
0

Size
30 m2

Suited For
2

Property Type
House, Apartment or Condo, Studio or Loft, Guest House

Tenant Timing

From September 13, 2021 until March 15, 2022

Estimated Duration

6 Months | My dates are flexible

Comments: For my first month in Paris, my fiancé (also a PhD candidate) will be with me. I would like to either stay on in the apartment we share or will need to find another place starting in mid-October for 3-7 months. Generally, though, I am very flexible.

Desired Location

Paris, Île-de-France, France

Explore the Area

Surroundings

  • Urban
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Tenant Budget and Terms

Minimum EUR €850 - Maximum EUR €1200 Monthly

I am fine with utilities included or not included

Comments: Ideally, I would like to spend closer to 1000-1100 euros/month but am somewhat flexible. Ideally, utilities would be included in the rent.

Considerations

I prefer smoking not allowed in the home

Comments: As I mentioned, my partner would be with me for the first month and would visit occasionally. This only the case if I rent an apartment beyond the month of October

House Sitting

I would consider house sitting

I would consider helping with pets

I would consider helping with mail and deliveries

I would consider helping with plants or garden

Features

Interior

Furnished

Connectivity

Wi-Fi

Appliances

Stove

Microwave

Refrigerator

Washer

Tenant Details

Who's Coming?

Party of
2
2 Adults

Member Background

Languages

English, French

About Me

I am a PhD candidate in History at the University of Pennsylvania. I study modern European intellectual, political, and economic history from the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries, with an emphasis on France and its empire. My dissertation, currently, is an intellectual-conceptual history of "the standard of living" (and its French counterpart, niveau de vie). I will be moving to Paris next year to complete my dissertation research and am looking for a place to live along with my partner (also an academic). I completed my undergraduate degree at the University of Chicago in 2016. I'm currently based in Philadelphia and have spent lots of time in Paris and Berlin

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.