Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic
Listing Owner user icon

Mr. Steve Humphrey BEd MA

Tenant Looking for a Home in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Monthly Budget: Minimum CAD $3000 | Maximum CAD $8000

Looking for an Entire Home | Willing to Housesit
Tenant Timing: From September 1, 2024 until March 31, 2026

Description

I am a retired 25 year veteran international IB World school educator 56 years old , happily married 22 years and have the pleasure and honor to have raised and educated two wonderful young men. Returned home in 2016 with my family after my father passed and now am an administrator of four private Montessori schools we serve our community with in Kamloops, B.C. I am Canadian as are my wife and children - 17 and 18 years. Our eldest, Elias, received scholarships for Vancouver Film School after winning the Zoom Film Festival December 2023 hosted by Mulgrave IB school and sponsored by VFS. Elias has subsequently chosen to persue his film studies at VFS after graduating high school in June 2024. He has been accepted to VFS for October 2024 cohort. I will be living with him for the duration of his 18 month scholarship tuition which he will complete in March 2026 Film Studies program and may take a course or two at UBC to keep myself busy again. However, my inclination is to alleviate any stress and anxiety for Elias' focus on his studies at VFS by securing a comfortable heritage garden home or the like for rental for this time period given a quiet, clean, private environs that can entice artistic contemplation and creativity for my son. A private furnished home is preferable however, if negotiable on price per month, an unfurnished home will serve well indeed. Our family has lived and taught in Bahrain, Uganda and most recently fourteen years in Education City in Doha, Qatar . We taught the Emir's children and loved our time in the Gulf region. We are happy to consider long term homesitting arrangement and/or rent and be in a relatively close proximity to Water street VFS campus location. His winning short film: https://youtu.be/P5I2CX8u_24?si=TXwHUY5I-XB_BO6Z My son and I would welcome chats and discussions on any of Microsoft teams, Zoom, my email or directly on my mobile included below in order to get to know eachother initially. Cheers! Yours in education, Steve Humphrey B.Ed M.A. Owner Solari Consulting Inc. Kamloops Montessori Centres Kamloops, BC 778 257 6440

Bedrooms
3

Bathrooms
3

Offices
2

Size
2,000 ft2

Suited For
2

Property Type
House

Tenant Timing

From September 1, 2024 until March 31, 2026

Estimated Duration

18 Months | My dates are flexible

Comments: Elias' VFS course begins mid October. After completion his Film Production 12 month course begins and he will complete in March 2026.

Desired Location

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Closest University

The University of British Columbia

Nearby Universities

Simon Fraser University | Vancouver Film School

Nearby Cities

West Vancouver

Comments: Our son will be attending VFS on scholarship for 18 months. Water Street. Looking for proximity and ease of travel in mornings and evenings to VFS from house rental. Thank you kindly.https://youtu.be/P5I2CX8u_24?si=TXwHUY5I-XB_BO6Z

Explore the Area

Surroundings

  • Off Campus
  • Walk to Campus
  • Suburban
  • Writer's Sanctuary
  • Historic Home
  • Architectural Gem
  • Near Ocean or Lake
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Woods
  • Near Park
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Tenant Budget and Terms

Minimum CAD $3000 - Maximum CAD $8000 Monthly

I am fine with utilities included or not included

Comments: We are father and son. No cleaning is required thank you.

Considerations

I prefer smoking not allowed in the home

I would like a car if possible

Comments: We have not decided whether to bring our vehicle . Parkingbthe only issue.

House Sitting

I am willing to housesit

Yes, I can help with pets

Any.

Yes, I can help with mail and deliveries

Can sort and forward as required to appropriate destination upon request.

Yes, I can help with plants or garden

Very comfortable with gardening and some little pruning if necessary and given appropriate garden tools are available thank you.

Comments: Prefer at least one private outdoor space especially if a pool is on site. Kindly.

Features

Interior

Semi Furnished

Connectivity

High Speed Internet

Wi-Fi

Exterior

Garden

Backyard

Appliances

Oven

Stove

Microwave

Refrigerator

Washer

Dryer

Comments: Quiet, breeze, view.

Tenant Details

Who's Coming?

Party of
2
2 Adults

Member Background

Languages

French

About Me

56, Retired international IB World schools educator, business owner of Montessori centers, 22 years happily married with 2 teenage children, world traveller. Avid reader and researcher.

Links

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.

Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic
Listing Owner user icon