Home Exchange / House Swap


El Cerrito California 94530 United States of America

Listing # 124378


General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Friday, September 14, 2018

1,000-square-foot 2-bed-1-bath home near Berkeley!

I bought this house in June, 2015. It's a 1,000-square foot 2-bed-one bath in El Cerrito, which is just north of Berkeley (10 min drive). A mile from two BART train stations. Blocks from police, fire dept, DMV, a mile from I-80 (to San Francisco) and I-580 to Richmond/Sacramento, etc. The house is right by an amazing recycling center (they take almost anything) and the Hillside Nature area where you can connect to a network of trails and observe incredible panoramic views. There's been a lot of work done on the house: new pipes, updated electrical work, new side porch, new fence, sump-pump, etc. Built in 1947. Includes all basic amenities. Safe neighborhood slightly up on a hill. Many families with kids and animals around here. (I am on the younger side in this area, 35.) I'm fine with pets as long as they're cleaned up after, etc. I have a cat which will be coming with me to NYC/staying with me.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
1000 Sq. Feet
Suited for
3 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Friday, February 1, 2019 until Thursday, August 1, 2019
Minimum Stay
6 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
I am hoping for Feb to Aug 2019 but am open to moving around a little, plus or minus a month or two
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City El Cerrito
Postal Code - State or Province 94530 CA
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords El Cerrito; Richmond; Albany
Closest University U.C. Berkeley; Whittier Education Foundation; Albany Music School; John F. Kennedy University
University nearby University of California Press; U.C. Berkeley




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: New York
City
New York

State or Province
NY
Country
United States of America

Neighborhood Keywords
Greenwich Village; East Village; Midtown; Murray Hill; Carroll Gardens; Crown Heights; etc)
Closest University
Parson's School of Design; Fashion Institute; NYU; The New School
University nearby
Doesn't matter. I'm a writer and only want the NYC general experience.
Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Friday, February 1, 2019 until Thursday, August 1, 2019


Rental Price:

Rental price not specified.

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Off Campus
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • TV
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Other: Good for writer/professor and/or small family.

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Yes
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Forward our Mail
Housesitting Comments
We'll work this out. But maybe forward mail to me in NYC? Open to discussion.

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Jun 12 2018
This member has no review
About Me
I am a 35-year-old writer and book editor. I was born and raised north of Los Angeles but moved around a lot in my twenties, frequently ending up in Manhattan and Brooklyn. In 2016 I traveled for 2.5 months around Western Europe. I ended up walking 450 miles of El Camino de Santiago, the famous spiritual path in Northern Spain. It was incredible. In 2015 I bought a 2-bed, 1-bath, 1,000-square-foot home in El Cerrito, just north of Berkeley, across the bay from San Francisco. And now I want to go back to NYC for 6 months to start, beginning in Spring, 2019. (Feb/March is ideal.) Do you have a house or apartment you’d like to swap with me? I just have myself and my two-year-old cat! I find NYC—Manhattan especially—incredibly inspiring for my writing. In terms of book editing, you may have heard of my client, former-neo-Nazi-turned-anti-hate-activist Christian Picciolini, whose memoir, White American Youth, was published by Hachette Books in December, 2017. He has since been on 60 Minutes, Sarah Silverman, Megyn Kelly, Sam Harris, NPR, and has done a TED Talk, etc.
https://www.michaelmohrwriter.com/

https://www.christianpicciolini.com

https://www.thecreativepenn.com/2018/03/09/fiction-techniques-writing-memoir/

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 6 + 10 =


Reviews

This member has no review