Home for Rent


Carlton North 3054 Australia

Listing # 112038


Rates From AUD 550 Weekly
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Saturday, February 10, 2018

Inner City Victorian Terrace House

I am retired and will be in Italy and the US for seven weeks in June and July. My home of over 40 years is a fully renovated terrace house in the inner suburbs of Melbourne. I have carefully renovated the home whilst taking great care to maintain and preserve the original Victorian style and features. The resultant is a large seven-room two-storey Victorian Terrace (built in 1901) ideal for a couple or a family with small or older children. Upstairs is the master bedroom with a built in wardrobe, a balcony veranda and queen size bed; a second bedroom with a double Victorian bed and a Tasmanian Huon pine Victorian wardrobe, and a third study or bedroom with a double futon sofa / bed. There are two bathrooms; one downstairs and a second with an upstairs shower/bath.
Downstairs is a fully equipped renovated large kitchen. Cooking is a passion; hence the home offers quality appliances and utensils throughout (Miele, Smeg, Cusinart, etc.) extensive recipes books and a walk in (midget only) pantry. The kitchen adjoins a sunny large living dining area overlooking a well-established garden. The front room is more formal with a Persian rug, four-seater sofa and stunning custom-made mirror. The second room is a less formal TV room. The entire house has polished Baltic floor pine original boards covered with Persian and afghan rugs, central heating throughout plus two working and highly effective Victorian fireplaces downstairs. There is a range of original Australian and overseas art throughout the house.
The leafy front and back gardens are a mixture of Australian natives, numerous roses, and bulbs. Part of the backyard garden has been converted to a vegetable garden with extensive herbs, lettuces and other vegetables in season and an outdoor dining area.
Canning Street has previously been voted the best street in Australia not surprising with a plantation down the centre, perfect for children kicking a football or playing cricket; and rows of restored Victorian homes. I am in the most attractive Northern end, two blocks from the Nicholson Street shopping strip which still has remnants of its Italian culture of fifty years ago and includes two butchers, two green grocer, a fish monger, two excellent bread/bakeries, numerous cafes and small restaurants. You can also venture a few blocks south to the upmarket Rathdowne Street shopping strip which again has numerous small exclusive restaurants, trendy wine bars as well as the Carlton Library and Curtain Square a popular playing area for children.
The house is walking or cycling distance from the CBD while Melbourne’s two most prestigious tertiary institutions; the University of Melbourne and RMIT are even closer. North Carlton generally is a highly sought after inner suburb full of cafes, restaurants, boutique clothing stores, bookstores, cinemas and the renovated Carlton Baths with gym facilities and parks. Canning Street is also the designated cycling street where the bikes dominate and I am happy to share my much bike. I am also a grandmother of two gorgeous grandchildren of just four and almost two and have toys, books, and a highchair available if needed.
The house is also close to funky Brunswick Street and Smith Street in Fitzroy and bus stops and trams stops are a short stroll away. I walk and cycle to a large variety of inner city locations including the Melbourne Cricket Ground, the Carlton Gardens and the Exhibition Building, IMAX Cinema, Melbourne Museum and the internationally renowned Melbourne Zoo.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
1

 
Suited for
6 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, May 16, 2018 until Sunday, June 17, 2018
Minimum Stay
3 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
No
Comments on Dates
I prefer to have only one tenant rent the house so happy to negotiate rent if the stay is longer.
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Carlton North
Postal Code - State or Province 3054 VIC
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords North Carlton, North Fitzroy
Closest University University of Melbourne
University nearby RMIT, Victorian Catholic University, City Campus Monash University and Victorian University




Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 550 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
Negotiable depending on interest and length of stay
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: Suitable for 3 couples, office also a bedroom

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Negotiable
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Care for Plants
Housesitting Comments
Have small vegetable garden and watering system, all available to eat but please keep garden watered.

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Non-Academic Individual
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Mar 9 2017
This member has no review
About Me
I have been retired for about 4 years and was previously a high school teacher and then the Executive Officer officer for a not for profit organisation called LLEN or Local Learning and Employment Network. Each LLEN (there are 31 LLENs in Victoria) worked at a community level with local stakeholders to improve outcomes for young people who were disadvantaged and/or at risk of leaving school. We worked to broker partnerships between local secondary schools, local councils, employers, social services, TAFEs and other stakeholders to provide pathways for young people. My LLEN covered the areas of Banyule and Nillumbik including West Heidelberg and Diamond Creek and Eltham. I am now active in a range of political activities, learning Italian and minding my two young grandchildren. I lived in Italy for 9 months after retiring and return frequently to Italy to see close friends. I am also a dual citizen and have family in the states. I will be visiting both Italy and the states so will be away for all of June and most of July.
Banyule Nillumbik LLEN

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 10 + 4 =


Reviews

This member has no review