Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Berlin Germany

Listing # 119746


Rates From EUR 1200 Monthly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Thursday, February 15, 2018

Barrier-free 2-BR family/couple apartment in green environment quietly located in central Friedrichshain under a lawful sublease contract

A very spacious and light-flooded 2-bedroom apartment with a view to lush green treetops and the famous TV tower, quietly located in the center of Berlin’s hippest neighborhood Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. Sleeps two adults very comfortably. With all amenities for families with babies or working couples (two work desks).


The Apartment


We offer a spacious and sunny 2-bedroom apartment with hardwood floors consisting of a big bedroom with a queensize bed, a huge combined living and dining room with access to a big balcony, a sunny office/reading room, a fully equipped and modern fitted kitchen, two bathrooms (one with a shower and a bathtub, the other one with a second toilet and the washing machine).

The flat is on second floor in a six-story residential building built in 2005 according to the highest safety and environmental standards (well-insulated walls, high quality electricity and water supply, central heating). The building and the flat itself are barrier-free making it accessible by wheelchair and stroller. The elevator stops directly in front of our door. The building is clean and well-maintained.

Due to the huge windows (ceiling to floor windows in the bedroom), the flat is bright and light-flooded at all times. However, the windows are conveniently located with no neighbors in direct sight who might gaze into the apartment. From the living and dining room, you enjoy a direct view on Berlin’s most famous attraction, the TV tower at Alexanderplatz. In spring, the dense maple leaves in front of your windows provide a lush green environment so that you might feel like you woke up in the middle of a forest (unfortunately, the photos taken in mid-winter can’t reflect this). In autumn, you can imagine the colorfulness on your doorsteps.

The Building

The flat is on second floor in a six-story residential building built in 2002 according to the highest safety and environmental standards (well-insulated walls, high quality electricity and water supply, central heating). The building and the flat itself are barrier-free making it accessible by wheelchair and stroller. The elevator stops directly in front of our door. The building is clean and well-maintained with a garden (with a sandbox for kids) and a green rooftop terrace for shared use with the other residents. The facility management agency is situated across the street and they usually send the janitor right away if there are any issues with the flat or the building.

We appreciate our nice and child-friendly neighbors. On the same floor, there are two other young families with little children.

The Sublease

We would like to rent out the flat from March to June 2018 with a possible extension to October 2018. We're flexible in terms of the exact dates though.

It is a lawful sublet which has already been approved by our agency. This means you can register with the city of Berlin to receive all the benefits of local residents. We just need to forward a copy of your IDs to the agency.

The Equipment

You can use everything as seen on the pictures. The furnishing is new and the electronic appliances are in perfect condition. Bedsheets, towels and kitchenware is available. If necessary, we can provide a more detailed list of the accessories.

Moreover, the baby-furniture (crib, nappy changing-table, highchair) is ready for your use, but we could also remove it if you don’t need it. Our balcony furniture is currently stored in the cellar, but we are happy to provide it upon request before the lease starts.

Public Transportation

The apartment building is conveniently located two minutes walking from the public transportation stop "Frankfurter Tor". With the subway U5 and the trams M10 and 21 you are well-connected to Berlin’s public transportation system that brings you everywhere in town. There are also several other trams (M13, M5), buses (240, 248), the U1 as well as different S-Bahn lines (S2, S5, S7, S9, S75) running in walking distance.

Neighborhood

Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg is a well-known alternative creative neighborhood in Berlin. Famous tourist and historic sites which you might know from movies such as “The Lives of Others” are only a stone’s throw away from our flat including the Karl-Marx-Allee (former Stalin Allee), the vibrant Simon-Dach-Kiez and Boxhagener Platz (with plenty of cafés, bars, restaurants and clubs), the former Berlin wall at the river Spree, the Alexanderplatz with the TV tower and so on. You can find more information here:
https://www.lonelyplanet.com/germany/berlin/friedrichshain
https://www.visitberlin.de/en/districts/friedrichshain-kreuzberg

Despite its location in the most vibrant corner of Berlin, the apartment is located in a very quiet sidestreet away from all the capital's hustle and bustle and suited for sensitive sleepers. On the opposite side of our street, there is a primary school, a daycare center and a small park. For children, there are many playgrounds and parks close-by.

If you need more information or for any other inquiries, please feel free to get in touch. We're looking forward to receiving requests for longterm rent. Please birefly introduce yourself and your purpose of staying in Berlin.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
90 Sq. Meters
Suited for
4 people
Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability:

Available from Thursday, March 1, 2018 until Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
We are particularly happy about requests for a longterm lease between March and October 2018
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Berlin
Postal Code - State or Province Berlin
Country Germany
Neighborhood Keywords Simon-Dach-Kiez, Boxhagener Kiez, Friedrichshain, Prenzlauer Berg
Closest University Humboldt University
University nearby




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: New York
City
New York

State or Province
NY
Country
United States of America

Neighborhood Keywords
Manhattan
Closest University
Columbia University

Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Sunday, March 4, 2018 until Thursday, July 5, 2018


Destination 2: Tel Aviv-Yafo
City
Tel Aviv-Yafo


Tel Aviv District
Country
Israel




Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Wednesday, August 1, 2018 until Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Rental Price:

Asked
EUR 1200 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Utilities including elecetricity and water, telephone/internet bills, household insurance and support by the tenants association amount to 300€/month. A slot in a high-security automatic garage system would be available for an additional 100€/month.
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
No
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Baby Furniture
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Negotiable
Smoke Free
Negotiable
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
No

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Graduate or Post-Graduate Student
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Nov 25 2017
This member has no review
About Me
I am a doctoral candidate with Freie Universität Berlin. For my research, I will spend most of 2018 abroad: March to June at Columbia University in New York and July to October at Hebrew University in Jerusalem (while being based in Tel Aviv though). My husband and our little one (4 months old) will join me. For this reason, we would like to find a nice family or couple to take over our lovely apartment for these periods. We don't smoke and have no pets. We both love travelling for work and fun. However, this will be our first longterm journey with a little baby. My husband works in IT and is a hobby-photographer. He will blog about his pathbreaking experience as a fulltime expat daddy from March to October 2018. On his blog, you find some more entries about our travels in the past. It's been an amazing journey so far and we so much look forward to keeping explore the world with a baby on board.
https://www.facebook.com/hale.phan

https://www.linkedin.com/in/halephan

http://www.hr-up.net/people/doctoral-candidates/Second-Cohort/Ha-Le-Phan/index.html

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 14 + 10 =


Reviews

This member has no review