Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


London United Kingdom

Listing # 18016


Rates From GBP 3000 Monthly
Independent Scholar Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Wednesday, April 11, 2018

LONDON VILLAGE OF CROUCH END, N8. EDWARDIAN HOUSE. Dates flexible, see preferences.

SUITABLE FOR: one or two professionals.

LOCATION: quiet treelined street a few minutes' walk to full range of shops, bakeries, delis, supermarkets, bars, pubs, cafes, restaurants, banks, medical centres, fitness centres, swimming pool, library, etc. Nice community atmosphere.

NEARBY are Priory Park (2 mins. walk), Queens Wood and Highgate Woods (10 mins.), swimming pools, tennis courts (5 mins.). Not very far are Hampstead Heath, Kenwood, Highgate, Muswell Hill.


HOUSE is light, spacious, characterful, comfortable. 2-storey end terrace built 1919 on 4 levels. Available for renters/exchangers: living room, open living/dining/kitchen, 1 double bedroom, 1 single bedroom, (1 large study and 1 small study, limited access), 1 bathroom, separate wc. Lots of original features, working fireplace. Wireless broadband, cable TV. Two bicycles. Private back garden, not overlooked (unusual for London). Washing machine, dryer and freezer are in shed/extension at side of house. Loft insulation, condensing boiler, thermostatic controlled radiators, but no wall insulation or double-glazing, so if winter happens to be very cold, gas heating bill can be a consideration.

TRANSPORT: reserved car parking in residents' bays, always space outside the house. Alternatively, car hire firm and gas station at the end of the road. If you want to go into town, best to get a travelcard and use public transport - quick, regular, reliable, and a lot less hassle.
Public transport: from house allow 35-40 mins. to West End, 90 mins. to Heathrow or Gatwick, 50 mins. to Stansted.
Shuttle bus (W7 or W3) goes from end of road, 10 mins. to Finsbury Park underground station, then Victoria & Piccadilly lines 10 mins. to Kings Cross/St Pancras, 15 mins. to West End, 1 hour (direct) to Heathrow, 1/2 hour (1 change) to Stansted, 50 mins. (1 change) to Gatwick. Finsbury Park main line station trains 50 mins. north to Cambridge etc, 5 mins. south to Kings Cross/St Pancras.
Alternatively, Highgate underground station (Northern line) is either 15-20 walk uphill or hail-and-ride W5 bus + 7 min. walk on the level.

RENTAL etc: negotiable, depending on season, length of time, which rooms required, if utilities included, etc. It will be below market rates. We'd want a deposit to cover metered services, breakages etc. and you'd be asked to water indoor plants once a week and clean before you leave.

EXCHANGE or RENTAL POSSIBILITIES: ONTARIO cottage country (June - Aug); DORDOGNE (all year); CENTRAL ITALY (all year); quieter GREEK ISLANDS (April - Oct). Maybe MELBOURNE or TASMANIA (Hobart). Dates flexible. We are interested in anything from 2-3 weeks to several months. (The Sabbatical 'Destinations' are only a guide.)

I am a psychotherapist and author, my wife is a teacher and workshop leader. Languages: English, French, a few words of Italian. Non-smokers. Experienced, responsible renters/exchangers.

If EXCHANGE OR RENTAL, we'd be looking for a quiet, characterful house, apartment, villa or cottage where we can write and read, within walking distance of local shops, in an historic neighbourhood of architectural interest and not far from countryside for walks. A sea view if on a Greek island. We enjoy just walking around and exploring.

PHOTOS: see slide-show link below.

PLEASE EMAIL with ideas or for more details. Thanks!

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
2

 
Suited for
2 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Tuesday, May 1, 2018 onward
Minimum Stay
2 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City London
Postal Code - State or Province
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords North London, Crouch End
Closest University London institutions 35- 45 mins., Oxford and Cambridge 1.5 hrs.
University nearby




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Dordogne
City
Dordogne


Aquitaine
Country
France

Neighborhood Keywords
Dordogne near shops and walks, historic town or village, stone, views






Destination 2: Spello
City
Spello
Postal Code
06038

Umbria
Country
Italy

Neighborhood Keywords
Umbria or Tuscany near shops and walks, historic buildings, stone built





Destination 3: Muskoka Lakes
City
Muskoka Lakes

State or Province
ON

Neighborhood Keywords
quiet lakeside cottage Muskoka Canada, walks, max. 20 mins. drive to shops
Country
Canada





Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 3000 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
negotiable depending on season and what services andf rooms included
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Some
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Off Campus
  • Available for Short Term

Amenities:

  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Printer
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other: private back garden, near shops & transport

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
No
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Care for Plants
Housesitting Comments
renting preferred, but housesitting option for direct or indirect exchange is possible

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
Contributor Contributor
(1) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Jun 8 2005
This member has no review
About Me
Philip: psychotherapist and author Carol: teacher and workshop leader Experienced, responsible renters
www.wayfinderpress.co.uk

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 1 + 2 =


Reviews

This member has no review