Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


Parkville 3010 Australia

Listing # 138586


Rates From AUD 600 Weekly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Saturday, February 29, 2020

Work in Melbourne - live near Hanging Rock: 4 bedroom fully furnished house in Woodend

Located in the beautiful regional village of Woodend, within about an hour commuting distance to Melbourne University and central Melbourne. With four bedrooms (including one very large room which is used as kids' bedroom), a large living area and a beautiful outside area including a new pergola, berry bushes and vegetable beds. One bedroom is being used as an office, but could be used as bedroom if needed. Master bedroom with king-size bed. The house has mostly double glazed windows and hydronic heating. There is one bathroom and separate toilet, and a large garage. There is also a piano. All amenities (gas, power, water and internet) are included.

Experience living "in the Australian bush", while still being close to Melbourne. The house is located on a 1000 sqm (1/4 acre) block on the northern end of the village, within walking distance (10-15 mins) of the primary school, centre of town and train station. Woodend is on the train line to Melbourne, and has become somewhat of a "tree changer" town over the last 10-15 years, with many people working in Melbourne, including Universities. It's a lovely village with great community spirit and many friendly young families. There are several great cafes and restaurants, a craft brewery, a large supermarket, large medical centre, dentist, all emergency services etc. Nearby are several wineries, the enigmatic Hanging Rock (yes, you can definitely have picnics there) and Mt Macedon. Plenty of opportunity for bushwalking, riding your bike etc. There are great mountain bike tracks, and various sports facilities (tennis club, football, basketball etc). It's a gorgeous place to live and to return to after a day of work in the city.

There are two primary schools in town, one public school and one catholic (both offer a before and after school care service). There are three secondary schools nearby, a private high school in Woodend/Mt Macedon, a public high school in Kyneton and a catholic high school in Kyneton.

If you want to know more, please contact us and we're happy to chat about what living here is like - and to share more photos.



Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
3
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
1000 Sq. Meters
Suited for
6 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Monday, August 17, 2020 until Friday, February 12, 2021
Minimum Stay
6 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Parkville
Postal Code - State or Province 3010 VIC
Country Australia
Neighborhood Keywords Semi-rural, commuter town
Closest University University of Melbourne
University nearby RMIT, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Royal Children's Hospital




Home Exchange:

We are only interested in a home swap with the following location(s)...

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: Bern
City
Bern


BE
Country
Switzerland


Closest University
University of Bern

Dates Wanted:
Wanted from Monday, August 17, 2020 until Friday, February 12, 2021


Rental Price:

Asked
AUD 600 Weekly

Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Off Campus
  • Available for Short Term
  • Writing or Country Retreat

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Dec 22 2019
This member has no review
About Me
Born and raised in Switzerland, but have lived in Australia for the last 25 years. Senior lecturer at Melbourne Veterinary School with two primary-aged children. Our home is a 4 bedroom house on a 1000 square metre block in the beautiful semi-rural town of Woodend, about 1 hour west from Melbourne. It's on the train-line to Melbourne, and many people, including University of Melbourne academics, commute to Melbourne by car or train every day. We have a great public primary school and all amenities (large supermarket, Health centre, emergency services etc). I'm looking at a possible sabbatical in Bern, Switzerland, from August 2020-February 2021 (6 months). Looking for an apartment or house that will fit the family (2 adults, 2 children). Doesn't have to be in Bern itself, could be one of the surrounding villages (no more than 45 minutes commute to Uni Bern).
https://findanexpert.unimelb.edu.au/profile/98118-jasmin-hufschmid

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 3 + 5 =


Reviews

This member has no review