Home for Rent or Home Exchange / House Swap


San Carlos California 94070 United States of America

Listing # 125812


Rates From USD 2250 Monthly
Independent Scholar
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Friday, November 23, 2018

Ideally located San Fran. Peninsula near Stanford home for NY or Europe

INTERESTED in a long term EXCHANGE or RENTAL IN NEW YORK, LONDON, or other major EUROPEAN CITY. My home is for simultaneous exchange or rent (during my absence tbd) for 4-6 months in 2019, starting about March 15 on.

My home is a classic comfortable vintage-style home in an upscale town between San Francisco and Palo Alto. It is on one level--no stairs. Home is very light and bright with a wall of windows that offer views to the San Francisco Bay. There is a wood fireplace, hardwood floor, and an updated kitchen with all modern conveniences. There are 2 carpeted bedrooms (one doubles as an office) w/queen & full beds. The bath includes both a tub and separate shower.

My large and private terraced garden includes herbs, roses, fruit trees, and a towering redwood tree. Both a sunning patio with BBQ and a breakfast porch invite one to enjoy one of the best micro-climates in the region. Lovely all year, with dry summers, full of warm sunshine & cooling breezes most days when San Francisco is often foggy and Berkeley/East Bay and San Jose/Silicon Valley are hot. Fall and spring are especially beautiful, but winter storms (& rainbows) are fun to watch from the living room windows.

The house is located on a quiet street at the end of a ‘cul de sac,’ 20 miles south of San Francisco, 10 miles north of Stanford University. It is a very safe, secure and calm family neighborhood with excellent schools—close to the City, yet a serene suburban escape.

Transportation options include public transit by commute train & bus as well as easy car access to 2 major freeways. There are NO bridges to cross to the City, thus avoiding their expensive bridge tolls and frequent traffic jams. The train (10 minute walk) has frequent (regular and express) service to San Francisco and Stanford (3rd stop, 10-14 min.), as well as to the Millbrae BART subway station for transfers to the City and Berkeley. There are several express buses daily to San Francisco. Use of my Prius car is available for exchange or for a negotiable rate to cover insurance, and maintenance costs.

Walking and biking are easy from here—it is a ten-minute walk to San Carlos town center, a charming European-style village with a weekly farmer's street market, outdoor cafes, numerous parks, a wonderful public library, excellent public schools and quirky, artistic shops. Many international restaurants are in town, including French, Burmese, Korean, Peruvian, Greek, etc. and regional US eateries such as Creole, Hawaiian and southern BBQ. We have wine bars, craft beer pubs, alfresco dining, our own jazz club and restaurants that offer music and dancing on weekends.

Close in town are many parks, nature hiking areas, an airplane/helicopter museum, and comprehensive hospital. Major shopping malls are close. Nearby (10 min.to 1 hour by auto) one can hike on Bay marshes, in forests & rollings hills or frolic on the Pacific Ocean beaches. It is possible to take easy overnight trips to seaside Monterey, Carmel, and the extensive Napa Valley wine country. Yosemite is near enough for a weekend trip.

I have lots of exchange experience. Thus I have an extensive tourist and cultural event library and am delighted to tailor recommendations and insider tips based on my guests interests.

Ideal for a visiting scholar (at Stanford or San Francisco Universities) or working tech professionals on temporary contract.

Best for 2 adults and one add'l adult or child. Suitable for children aged 6 and older.




Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
1
Number of Offices
0
Surface Size
1200 Sq. Feet
Suited for
3 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Friday, March 1, 2019 until Sunday, December 15, 2019
Minimum Stay
2 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Prefer from March on, but am flexible. Min. to rent mine--2; min. for exchange location for me-4 mo
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City San Carlos
Postal Code - State or Province 94070 CA
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords
Closest University Stanford University
University nearby University of California (San Francisco medical campus), San Francisco State University, University of San Francisco




Home Exchange:

We are open to a home swap with any destination!

Preferred Exchange Destination(s) and timing:

Destination 1: London
City
London


England
Country
United Kingdom








Destination 2: New York
City
New York

State or Province
NY
Country
United States of America







Destination 3: Amsterdam
City
Amsterdam


NH


Country
Netherlands





Rental Price:

Asked
USD 2250 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Water, trash, cable, internet, gas & elec. included, if an exchange. If rented, electricity & gas are tenant's responsibility.)
Rent Negotiable
Yes
Utilities Included
Some
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Reserved Parking
  • Fireplace
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable
Small Children Safe
No
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Negotiable
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Dec 27 2008
This member has no review
About Me
I was a faculty member in Student Services for 30 years before I retired. I am an avid traveler, having made many trips worldwide, but especially in Europe, sometimes on my own and sometimes with my retired brother. I have exchanged my home many times through another exchange site, often for periods of one to two months. My interests are the humanities (especially art history and theater) and multi-cultural experiences. I am physically active and enjoy yoga, meditation, and I walk/hike regularly. I am a fabric and 'wearable art' craftsperson. As a native Californian, and long time San Francisco Bay Area resident, I provide excellent, individually-tailored tourist information, including many off-the-beaten path experiences and low-cost options and tips. People describe me as responsible, friendly, tolerant, flexible and easy-going. I believe in the creed of leaving a "small footprint" in the world and treat others and their possessions as I would want for myself. I am interested in a long term exchange or rental in a major European city or New York for my home 10 miles north of Stanford University.

This member has referred 1 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 14 + 10 =


Reviews

This member has no review