Home for Rent or Home Sitting

Oxford OX4 3SL United Kingdom

Listing # 122601

Rates From GBP 560 Weekly
Academic Verified
About Member
Last Updated: Sunday, April 14, 2019

SUMMER LET - Comfortable Oxford Family Home with lovely garden, easy parking, bikes included, dates somewhat flexible

Our house is located on a quiet residential road, close to the centre of Oxford.

It is available in the summer for around a month, starting July 25 until August 22 (or until Aug 31 if needed).

Rental rate is inclusive of all bills/utilites and extras (landline calls, Wi-Fi, car-club membership), only a cleaning fee of £60 will be added. We'd kindly ask you to water the garden if it's very hot and dry, and to look after our pets: we have two lovely cats (Millie and Molly) who need feeding twice a day (and occasional cuddles), as well as a very low-maintenance fish-tank (feeding only, i.e. some flakes every other day). We can arrange some cover with neighbours in case you go away for trips overnight.

The house is fully furnished. It is a standard English semi-detached house, which means rooms are small compared to American or continental-European standards, but we've made the most of the space and it's very comfortable. Especially the garden makes it stand out.

It would suit a couple or a family with children, wanting an Oxford holiday, research trip or to scope out housing options in the town.
We had the same American family as summer tenants in our house for 10 years, and a lovely Spanish family last year, but they are not travelling this year.

The ground floor consists of an open plan kitchen/diner and living area with a corner sofa and piano (the study - not pictured - will be used to store our personal belongings, so out of use). We're keen on cooking so there is lots of cooking equipment (plus the garden with your homegrown produce). Blender, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer. There is a front garden and a lovely, mature garden to the rear with flowers, a vegetable garden & herb bed and fruit trees. Please harvest as much as you like!

The first floor has three bedrooms: the master bedroom, one bigger kids' room with a lovely library and another, very small room with a sofabed which is used by our 11yo. The main bathroom with bath tub, shower and toilet is also upstairs, and there is a second toilet downstairs.

The sofa in the living room can be turned into a double bed, so in theory, the house can sleep up to six (although we haven't advertised it as such, since it's best enjoyed less cramped). But there's definitely space for the occasional guest(s).

Four bikes are available in the garage. There is Wifi (fibre broadband) and you can use our landline to make calls, including international.

If you do need a car: community car-share (co-wheels) is round the corner, and we can add you to our membership free of charge.

About the neighbourhood
We live on a quiet residential road, conveniently located for access to the city centre as well as trips outside Oxford. It is is a 10-15 min bus (or bike) ride into town, with the bus stop a 5 min walk away and buses running regularly every 10 min.

Florence Park with three playgrounds and a tennis court is walking distance, and lively Cowley Road with its many restaurants is close by.
Iffley village is a 15 min walk from our house, and from there, it's a lovely walk (or bike ride) into town along the river Thames.

You have a fairly big shopping center with a medium-sized supermarket in walking distance, and two small supermarkets even closer. A big supermarket is less than 5 min by car.

About Oxford
Oxford is a beautiful city steeped in history, with lots to explore.
It is on a main train line with direct links to London Paddington, Birmingham New Street and Cardiff.

Oxford is a city that you can enjoy without relying on a car, but if you do have access to a car, there are many daytrips you can do:

Blenheim Palace & Woodstock (20 minutes), Bicester Village Shopping Centre (an upscale outlet, 25 mins), the beautiful Cotswolds (30 mins) are all within easy reach.
London is only an hour away and apart from the train, there is a very frequent 24 hour coach service that runs from Oxford to London with several convenient stops.

Other possibilities include:
Stratford-on-Avon, a medieval market town and the 16th-century birthplace of William Shakespeare: an hour away.
Portsmouth, home of famous ships the Mary Rose and HMS Victory: 90 minutes
Bath, a beautiful town known for its natural hot springs and 18th-century Georgian architecture: 90 minutes
Brighton, a vibrant cosmopolitan seaside resort: 2 hours
Cardiff, the capital of Wales: 2 hours


Number of Bedrooms
Number of Bathrooms
Number of Offices

Suited for
4 people
Property Type


Available from Thursday, July 25, 2019 until Saturday, August 31, 2019
Minimum Stay
4 week(s)
Flexible With Dates
Comments on Dates
the core time is the last week of July until mid/lateAugust, but there is some flexibility on dates
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Oxford
Postal Code - State or Province OX4 3SL England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords quiet and residential, yet in cycling distance to the University and city centre
Closest University Oxford, Oxford Brookes
University nearby

Rental Price:

GBP 560 Weekly
Rental Fee Comments
All utilities included. £60 cleaning fee at the end of the stay.
Rent Negotiable
Utilities Included
Cleaning Services Included


  • Sub Urban Environment

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Short Term


  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Wireless Network
  • Reserved Parking
  • Piano
  • Garden
  • Other:


Kid Friendly
Small Children Safe
Smoke Free

Car Available

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants

About Member

Name (Alias)
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since May 10 2011
This member has no review
About Me
We are an academic family living in Oxford, UK. A physicist at Oxford University and a medical doctor/epidemiologist. Our girls are now 10 and almost 14. We have two cats called Millie and Molly. We spent a wonderful sabbatical in Berkeley in late 2011, and had found our place to stay on sabbaticalhomes. It's now our turn to look for tenants: we go back home to Austria over the summer, and our regular summer tenants of 10 years are not travelling this year, so it's time for somebody new - we hope you will enjoy our house!

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
Your Email
Message Help
Human? Please answer: 14 + 3 =


This member has no review